Baked Beef and Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I was surprised how tasty this was with such simple ingredients. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and skipped the green pepper. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder to the tomato juice mixture. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
We loved the flavor and the ease, but not the grease. I used 85/15 beef and it was not lean enough. So definitely use the leanest possible. I will make again but will probably try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I wouldn't recommend trying this recipe if you live any distance above sea level. We live at 6,000 feet and had to cook it for 2.5+ hours to get the rice tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Amazing. Add water to make sure the rice gets cooked fully through. Great flavor. My 2 year old had seconds :) That says a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was GREAT. It's a good pantry staple meal. I used dried onions and V-8 juice instead of the tomato juice and cut out the salt and it was awesome! My husband said it reminded him of a deconstructed stuffed green pepper. All the kids cleaned their plates, too. THANKS! I will for SURE make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
WOW!! FANTASTIC!! This was great! So easy and inexpensive! HUGE hit with everybody! The rice turned out PERFECT for me and the dish was not dry at all! When you make this recipe, remember that you need to use long cooking brown rice and the rice MUST go in first and then add the remaining ingredients in the order they are given in the recipe. We even made 2 pans and baked them at the same time. Both turned out just PERFECTly!! We will DEFINITELY be making this again VERY soon!! Thank you for submitting what is now our family's new FAVORITE dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Hutton-Loyer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Wow! I just made this tonight. It's delicious! My husband is crazy about it, and he's picky. Great combination of flavors. Someone mentioned adding water, so I did add about 1/2 cup of water, and after an hour and a half, the rice was cooked perfectly, and the casserole was beautiful. Also, I didn't have tomato juice, so I used tomato sauce. Still came out great. I'll be making this one again! Thanks! P.S. To answer Pat's question. The ground beef is uncooked when you put it in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I have a question - is the ground beef cooked before adding to the dish or not?? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Rice didn't cook as quickly as recipe stated and over all was just a terrible dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I started this, when I realized I had no ground beef...so it became a meatless meal, although I can imagine the beef would really taste good in it. The only thing I didn't like about it was that I had to add about 1/2 cup water to get the rice fully cooked. Otherwise, it was so easy to throw it all together, then forget it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States