Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This recipe is great. I made this for a church picnic and while it was easy to cook on a large scale it still turned out well. I did make a few little changes including: using bacon instead of sausage, skipping the bell pepper, using a red onion, and adding some extra spices and a little whiskey as the beans slow cooked. There ya go pilgrim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is such a wonderful recipe. I completely followed it the first time and did find that it could use more beans. Other then that it is great. Everyone went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Easy quick and delish.... Loved it....I did use pre cooked sausage to save time and fat......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I didn't elimate any extra liquid from the can of baked beans (Bush's Homestyle Baked Beans) but then decreased the vinegar by 1 tablespoon. We're not big green pepper fans so I used 2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes instead. I also picked up 1/2 pound spicy pork sausage to replace the links. My mother-in-law preferred these to her own family recipe. **5/12 addition: We have made these several times since the original review and still love them. I've gotten "braver" and save myself some kitchen warmth by using the slow cooker. Half a day in there and they're as good or better than from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious! Even my extremely picky vegetarian son liked it! Used a combo of left over canned vegetarian baked beans & left over Best Black Beans from this site to measure out about 28 ounces, half the onion & bell pepper, & used left over home made pizza sauce instead of ketchup. Instead of sausage, I crumbled up some left over hamburger patties (set aside some non-meat mixture for vegetarian son). Served with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site (made with gluten free all purpose flour). Delicious served cold the next day! This recipe is so versatile & forgiving! Great recipe, especially for an ok cook like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Way too sweet and too much ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Free Union, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Using a 28 oz. can of Bush's Baked Beans, I followed the recipe except that I forgot to add garlic powder, and I don't care for sausage, so I left that out. I opted for adding cayenne, which gave the beans a nice zing. The sweetness is offset just the right amount by the tartness of the other ingredients. Even with the omissions, I think this recipe is a sure winner that I definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were great baked beans! I decided to go out of my territory and try a different and new recipe other than my usual. This was a nice change but I dont think it will be replacing our favorite. But it will definitely be made again! Like a lot of others have said, it was very soupy. I like my baked beans a little soupy, but this was too much. So I added a drained small can of pork and beans to it to help the consistency. We also like our baked beans sweet so I added a little more brown sugar. I used cider vinegar as well and a little less than called for. I cooked these low and slow in the crockpot for several hours, then right before serving put them in a 400 degree oven to get them nice and bubbly for about 30 minutes. These made a nice spicy baked bean. Very good and different! Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: Ive made these a second time but without the sausage since I was serving it along side of pork ribs. I didnt put them in the slow cooker this time but baked them. I baked them for about 2 hours so that they would get nice and thick and dark brown. They were delicious and I think I prefer making them this way without the sausage and cooking longer in the oven so all the liquid gets thick and caramelized. They still are a nice spicy bean without the sausage. I did add a little extra brown sugar again the second time, along with apple cider vinegar in place of the regular. 5 stars for sure this way, for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Good flavor beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States