Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I know this has been on the site for a while however, I today just tired it and I have to let you know... "OFF THE HOOK" the only change I made was I use 1lb ground pork sausage(hot Jimmy Deans)... great stuff! TY for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
It was good, but I wasn't blown away by this. Don't know that I'll go out of my way to make it again, but I am glad I tried it. I agree that it needed more beans. Maybe thrown an extra can of drained pintos in on top of the can of baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made these beans for the first time to take to a potluck, so took some the of the negative reviews into consideration and proceeded cautiously. Some said it turns out too soupy: I used 2 28 oz. cans pork & beans and drained some of the liquid from the cans. Still turned out on the soupy side. Will drain completely next time. Too spicy: Used same amounts of spices as recipe calls for when using only one can of beans. Too vinegary: Used 2 Tbs vinegar instead of 4. Used apple cider vinegar. I used VanKamp Pork & Beans. With the added can of beans, the only other increases I made in the recipe were, to use a LARGE onion (sweet), a LARGE bell pepper, and added an extra 1/4 brown sugar and 1 additional sausage. I sauteed the onion, bell pepper and sausage before mixing everything together, and cooked on high in a crock pot for 3 hours. Everyone loved the beans. As a side dish it served 8 with a little left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Fantastic! I mixed these up (without the sausage )then placed some pork chops in the bottom of the slow cooker. Used 1 Tbsp chili powder & 1 Tbsp Chipotle powder. Poured the beans over the chops & cooked on low all day. Truly Pork & Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REECES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pella, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
First time I made these I used the baked beans... we found them to be too sweet and soupy... second time I made them, I used pinto beans, ground spicy sausage and more onions... YUM! much better my way ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Will make again soon! Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Certainly has a kick but not fussed on the amount of Worchestershire sauce or chili powder, will adjust those amounts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
huge raves from all eaters. such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TILO0002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This recipe is a keeper! I used regular sausage insead of the spicy. I put all the liquid including the onions and peppers in a pan prior to baking and reduced the amount of liquid. The flavor is very spicy so careful with the chili powder. This is a great recipe-didn't change a thing except reduced all the liquid. This is the best baked bean recipe I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
WOW!!! I made this for the 4th of July for our family and they raved about how good they were. I don't like baked beans, so I was happy they liked them and said I would try them later. Finally I did and Holy cow!! I LOVE these beans! I make them every week now. They are fantastic. My husband loves them, my mother in law just made them because they love them, and I'm giving the recipe to several people I know. MAKE THESE BEANS!! They are delicious!! If you don't like sausage, leave it out, the beans still taste great. If you do like sausage, you will love it in with the beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States