Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe, though people with a more sensitive palate may find it a bit too potent. It certainly has a kick to it! To make it a bit more healthy, I use a can of baked beans without pork, and use less sausage. I also try to sneak in a bit more cayenne when my wife's not looking. Excellent for clearing sinuses and waking up sleepy dinner guests. I hear Chuck Norris ate this when he was a baby. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This recipe was fantastic. Not the traditional baked bean, but no one was disappointed, they were gone in a flash. I loved the kick these beans had but I will lessen the chili powder just a tad next time, a little overpowering I am thinking 1 1/2 instead of 2 TBLS. I also used about a half lb. of ground pork (regular flavored)sausage instead of the links so it would be more evenly distributed and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady_of_lamour

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I made this for a Memorial Day cook-out. As advised by others, I drained the beans, used 1t of vinegar, 2t chili powder and 1T Worcestershire. Everyone loved it and have requested it for the Labor Day cook-out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
my husband loved this and he is a Texan. i thought it was very good. I would rate it five if any of the heat in the dish was at the tip of the tongue rather than all at the end of the bite. I did add a pinch of the reccommended cayenne pepper and also 5 dashes of tobasco. Would more of these help accomplish an initial spiciness? I also wonder if it could achieve the tangy flavor without quite so many calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I have made theses over and over, they are the hit of any dinner. I read the reviews first (as always) and I did cut back on the vinegar. Every cook out party I am asked to bring the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Can't say these beans suited our taste perfectly, but they came pretty darn close! They really are delicious and my husband went on and on about them. I atually sauted my onions and peppers and ground pork all together and added the other ingredients to the pot before baking. I didn't drain my beans and I had no problem with too much liquid. I am looking forward to cooking these in a crock pot this weekend for a BBQ at my home. I am sure everyone will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
AWESOME! AWESOME! GREAT FLAVOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was SO good! I followed advice by draining the beans, using less vinegar, and putting it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was awesome. A great recipe to take to a bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Loved these! I only used half an onion and still thought that was too much onion, so next time I will use a little less. I accidentally left out the brown sugar and didn't miss it - maybe next time I will add it and see. These beans are very different from "plain" baked beans and just what I was looking for. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States