Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
These beans were a hit at my class reunion. Instead of the oven, I simmered them all night on low in a crock pot. They cooked down well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
awesome flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I didn't have chili powder so I used 1/2 cup chili sauce instead of the ketchup. I also used the juice from my jar of jalapeno peppers instead of the vinegar. Of course I had to add some chopped jalapeno - about 2 tablespoons' worth. This came out a tad more spicy which is what we like. If you want to kick up the heat from the original recipe this is a great version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I have been using this recipe for a couple years now, at least, and thought I'd finally rate it. These are fantastic. I use 3 cans of baked beans, not just one. I omit the bell pepper and cayenne and use ground sausage instead of links and then follow everything else to a T. They are spicy enough for a little kick, but not too spicy! I have gotten many many compliments over the years and been asked for the recipe several times. It's a staple in our house for cookouts and potlucks and always will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
DELICIOUS, I received great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Ok, I didn't use the pepper(nobody in my family would have eaten them if I had) and I couldn't find the spicy sausage links or anything close to it at our grocery store, but...... Oh my these beans were YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY!!! I loved that they were a little spicy, not too sweet and lots of tangy. I took about 6 strips of bacon and cut them into 1 inch squares, cooked them a little bit, then put them on top of the beans while they were baking. You can't ever go wrong with a little bacon, right? I will be making these again!!!! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These were good. I used only 2 T. vinegar and 1 1/2 T. chili powder but kept everything else the same. My one comment is that I drained the beans first based on what one reviewer said about them drowning in sauce. It was a mistake. They were then too dry. Flavor was very good, although not traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
The best I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was pretty darn good. The recipes was simple to follow and took no time at all to put it together. Since I did not have the sausage I substituted bacon instead. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
hubby said these were the best beans he ever tasted. I did use Heinze spicy ketchup instead of regular ketchup and excluded the pepper. It gave it a little spice, but not to much for a child. Next time I think I will double it because it goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jadedhawk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States