Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These were a huge hit at my housewarming bbq. I double the recipe and used half the amount of brown sugar, and everyone really liked that they weren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Brought this to a birthday party and several people commented on how good this was. Thanks for making me look like I can cook. I only made two changes. I added less chili powder and added a mild chili pepper chopped. I also used my own beans. Will use this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was a HUGE hit in my house. I cannot make enough it goes so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I did not care for this at all. The vinegar taste was too strong for me. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Frye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Sweet but w/ a Spicy Kick. These were awesome and not your everyday Baked Beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is one of my favorites, and is a hit every time I make it. I like to use beans that have brown sugar, onions, etc already it them. I also leave a little more of the juice from the beans out and add a little bit of BBQ sauce. I have also made huge batches with 3 28 ounce cans of beans and 2 lbs of sausage. Get the extra hot sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKAHTUL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
These were just OK. I had much higher expectations. I have had better baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The beans were not too sweet and the addition of link sausage was a very nice change from the ground variety. Loved these beans and so did my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I personally thought this recipe was too soupy (too much liquid) and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi_99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These were good, but were a little sweet for my taste. I made the recipe as follows except I did not use the hot sausage and I only used one T of chili powder because mine is fresh and spicey. I used 2 cans of beans and drained the one can, but I wish I had drained both. I think it ends up soupy because the lid is kept on the beans the entire cooking time. Next time I make these I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 C, drain both cans of beans and take the lid off the last 15 minutes of cooking that should allow the beans to thicken up a bit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States