Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The beans were not too sweet and the addition of link sausage was a very nice change from the ground variety. Loved these beans and so did my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I personally thought this recipe was too soupy (too much liquid) and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi_99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These were good, but were a little sweet for my taste. I made the recipe as follows except I did not use the hot sausage and I only used one T of chili powder because mine is fresh and spicey. I used 2 cans of beans and drained the one can, but I wish I had drained both. I think it ends up soupy because the lid is kept on the beans the entire cooking time. Next time I make these I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 C, drain both cans of beans and take the lid off the last 15 minutes of cooking that should allow the beans to thicken up a bit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
these beans are much like a sloppy joe. i agree with another rater....a little on the soupy side. though i thought....just decent..my friends and family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Wonderful flavor, but they were a little soupy. I would have liked to have them a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Just made this according to the directions and it was great. Sweet at first taste and then the heat takes you by suprise. Not overwhelmingly spicy but if you are not used to spice this may not be for you. This one goes in my box and has me thinking of variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
My husband, who absolutely dislikes bell peppers and onions, couldn't stop raving about this recipe. My son-in-law did the same. This one is definitely a keeper for your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
These baked beans are spectacular! I made them for a picnic and everyone loved them. They all asked for the recipe! I didn't change anything... and won't. This recipe is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
If you like spicy baked beans these are the ones for you. These were a big hit at the family cookout. I did double the beans used and I cooked them a bit longer so they were less soupy. Oh, and I used bacon instead of sausage. Will be taking these to the family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Didn't work for our family, too overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States