Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I have used this recipe many times since I first saw it here. There are never any left-overs and I have been asked for the recipe many times. The only thing I do different is that I use more sausage than is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Recipe was good - next time I will use a little less brown sugar - 1/2 cup made it too sweet for my families taste. I will also use a little less chili powder (but not much less) overall it was good and my daughter love the aroma while it was in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Wonderful!! I halved the chili powder, used mild Johnsonville Sausage, and it still had plenty of flavor. Adults and kids loved this. I cooked in the crock pot on low for about 4.5 hours. Really great for a football party or fall get together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
These were excellent and a HUGE hit! I substituted the spicy pork links with a pound of thick cut peppered bacon and cooked in a slow cooker on low for 4 hours. This was almost a meal in itself! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McKinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Texas, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Loved this recipe!! I made it for a football tailgate party where the main dish was fried chicken, so I doubled it. Like another reviewer, instead of the sausage, I added northern beans. I cooked it in the crockpot for 4 hrs., probably could have cooked for only 2-3 hrs. I also drained half of the fluid from the beans so it would be thick. Everyone loved them!! I will make these again and again- they're great for any picnic, potluck, etc!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
These are a little too "southwestern" for me. They are good if you like that style, I prefer the more common homestyle baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this in June 2008 at my Husband's outdoor Retirement from the Navy BBQ party. It was the hit of the party, well, food-wise. Everyone kept telling me how great this was. The only thing I changed was I bought Bush's Maple beans, instead of the Pork beans, I don't like pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
These are the best beans EVER!!! I make them year round--for BBQs, games, potlucks, etc. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I made these to go with boneless pork ribs and they were awesome! Just the right amount of "kick"! My family loved them. This recipe will go in my favorites book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars because these beans are awsome indeed. However, let me tell you my bean story. My dad has been making "his famous beans" since I can remember and they are some kind of version of these except he eyeballs all the ingredients. The 3 ingredient that are going to make or break the recipe are the vinegar, brn sugar and ketchup which is why i looked up the recipe. When you eyeball every time they tend to always be slightly off so I wanted exact amounts. I am an all recipes junky and I wanted a guideline because I always get bombarded with raves about my beans. when to me they have "tasted better". So heres the thing, everyone has different tastes. Try making these beans with a whole slab of regular bacon instead of the sausage. Let it brown until it is as crispy as it gets until it burns. add in your onion and peppers and continue to saute for 10 min or so until they are nicely browned. Dont worry, the liquid from the veggies will keep the bacon from getting browner, trust me, the bacon somehow stops cooking. If you dont let the bacon get very well done first you will end up with soggy bacon. anyways, then add your beans and try starting out with 2 tbsp vinegar, 1/4 C brn sugar, 1/4 C ketchup. If it isnt quite right for you at that time, try adding equal amounts until it is to your desired flavor. This recipe is way too sweet for me, and I love putting sugar in almost all my sauces. I could tell when i made it that is was way more than i had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANIE10857

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States