Baked Beans III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Was looking for something fast for a side dish. This turned out pretty good, I did cut back on the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This was very tasty and EASY! I doubled the recipe, but only used 12 oz. of bacon and about 4 tbsp. of brown sugar. Used the "original" Bush's baked beans. Turned out perfect! I would definitely not use any more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These are really yummy! I reduced the amount of sugar based on other reviews. I doubled the beans and bacon for a larger crowd and probably only used 4-8 oz of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Definatly a keeper. Who'd have thought you could turn that from the can into such a delicious and satisfying dish? Everyone who ate it raved about it. Next time, I'm gonna try reducing the sugar a bit, and adding some bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was good! I changed just a few things though. I did add some onion and I like my bacon cooked well so I sauteed it all the way through before adding the sugar. And I didn't add quite as much sugar as the recipe calls for. I've made this recipe twice this weekend already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I made this recipe for a 4th of July BBQ and got many compliments! Very easy and quick to make. This will be my main baked beans recipe from now on. However, I did use only about half of the brown sugar the recipe called for when I tripled the recipe. It was perfect with only half of the sweetness. Also, I prefer my bacon to be a bit more on the cooked side so think I will try frying the bacon for a few minutes before I add the brown sugar next time. Num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Yummy. Made these for the 4th and there weren't any leftovers. Very easy. I used 4 oz. of brown sugar per can instead of 8. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raidergirl79
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Such a keeper recipe! This is one way to soothe a hungry man quickly and keep him coming back for more. My friend brought the ingredients on a 3-day camping trip and cooked it on the coals of our campfire. It was more popular than marinated steak and shrimp dishes we also made. I use unsulphured molasses or real maple syrup if I don't have enough brown sugar. And, here in Florida, it wouldn't be baked beans without Vidalia onion. This is a versatile, simple recipe that can easily be adjusted for individual tastes. I like that it can be frozen, cooked in a crock pot, frying pan, casserole dish, or campfire. It has minerals, protein, iron, and fiber as well (just don't tell the men it's good for them). Thanks, Barclay, for a job well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I made these beans just as the recipe called for and they were a hit! I get asked to bring these beans to all family get-togethers now. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States