Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I have made this several times, its very good, very easy, and I usually have everything on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
These are wonderful. My first time making baked beans and I was very pleased. I think it is important if you are going to rate a recipe you should make it as written. If you go about making a lot of changes and then give it a bad rating, that is terribly misleading to the system. Off my soap box! The only place I deviated is rather than lay two slices of bacon on top, I chopped up the two slices and sprinkled them on top. This made it much easier to serve and the bacon was nice and just crispy. The only change I think I might make next time is to drain one of the cans of beans. Very very good and very easy. ***EDIT*** I made this for a second time, drained one can of beans and it was just a bit better!! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Yumm! Very good proportions. As others suggested I fried the bacon first, then sauted the onions in part of the remaining bacon grease. I like green bell peppers in baked beans, so I sauteed about 3/4 of a cup chopped peppers along with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very nice recipe. If you lighten up on the sugar, go ahead and add a teaspoon of molasses. This will give it a wonderful flavor. This is so simple, yet delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Good recipe although I add cider vinegar instead of red wine. Anyone out there that has their mother's or grandmothers old bean pot...USE IT, I don't understand why but I swear it's MAGIC! I like this recipe but I think I could almost put anything in my mothers bean pot and they would be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Didn't like the flavor of these much....wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Somers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is delicious. I was in a hurry so I cooked it in the microwave thinking it wouldn't thicken. I microwaved the onion for one minute before adding to the dish. I also microwaved the bacon between paper towels for two minutes until crisp, then broke it in pieces, placed it on top of the dish, and microwaved, covered, on high power for 5 min. I stirred it, and put in back, covered for 5 more minutes. I repeated this twice uncovered, for 3 minutes each stirring each time and it got thick and very hot. I let it sit a little to cool while serving dinner and they tasted great. I know they would be better cooked in the oven, but I was very impressed with these beans. My husband went back and ate all the beans that were left in the dish! Not bad for under 20 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
i upped this to 30 servings and made it in the crockpot. made it exactly as written. i think if i make this again ill add a little franks red hot and some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I have made these many, many times and everyone LOVES them! The only thing I have learned over time is to saute the onion first in a little (tbls. or so) olive oil. I didn't like the texture of hard onion in the beans. I also buy a package of REAL crumbled bacon (usually found in the salad dressing aisle) and mix with everything else. The best baked beans ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
this was perfect for my catering gig today! it tasted and smelled absolutely amazing! perfect recipe (i made it for 15). will use always! great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States