Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very nice recipe. If you lighten up on the sugar, go ahead and add a teaspoon of molasses. This will give it a wonderful flavor. This is so simple, yet delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Good recipe although I add cider vinegar instead of red wine. Anyone out there that has their mother's or grandmothers old bean pot...USE IT, I don't understand why but I swear it's MAGIC! I like this recipe but I think I could almost put anything in my mothers bean pot and they would be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Didn't like the flavor of these much....wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSomers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is delicious. I was in a hurry so I cooked it in the microwave thinking it wouldn't thicken. I microwaved the onion for one minute before adding to the dish. I also microwaved the bacon between paper towels for two minutes until crisp, then broke it in pieces, placed it on top of the dish, and microwaved, covered, on high power for 5 min. I stirred it, and put in back, covered for 5 more minutes. I repeated this twice uncovered, for 3 minutes each stirring each time and it got thick and very hot. I let it sit a little to cool while serving dinner and they tasted great. I know they would be better cooked in the oven, but I was very impressed with these beans. My husband went back and ate all the beans that were left in the dish! Not bad for under 20 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
i upped this to 30 servings and made it in the crockpot. made it exactly as written. i think if i make this again ill add a little franks red hot and some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I have made these many, many times and everyone LOVES them! The only thing I have learned over time is to saute the onion first in a little (tbls. or so) olive oil. I didn't like the texture of hard onion in the beans. I also buy a package of REAL crumbled bacon (usually found in the salad dressing aisle) and mix with everything else. The best baked beans ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom
Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
this was perfect for my catering gig today! it tasted and smelled absolutely amazing! perfect recipe (i made it for 15). will use always! great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Pretty good but still tastes like a can of pork & beans with stuff in it to me. Maybe if it were thicker with more meat in it that would do it for me. Less sugar works out well, I used 1/3 C. and got good results with sweetness & flavor. Next time I will try a small amount of molassis, 1/2 lb. of browned hamburger and cook a little longer to thicken it up a bit and give it that hearty, "stick to your ribs" quality that my pre-conception of baked beans ought to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Wow! So easy and yet so good! This reminds me of the way my Grandma Helen used to make baked beans for every summer picnic. Other than cutting back on the ketchup and adding a bit of molasses and liquid smoke I wouldn't change a thing. This definitely is a great way to take a regular 'ol can of baked beans and turn them into something special without a lot of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Totally rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States