Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My Mom makes the best baked beans ever. But they have to soak overnight, and require several hours of baking in the oven. I just don't have time. Thought this recipe had similar ingredients to hers without the time investment. I was NOT disappointed. This recipe was AWESOME. My mom used molasses, so I did use another reviewers comment and reduce the brown sugar and add some molasses. I also swapped the ketchup for chili sauce. These were absolutely delicious. My Mom even asked for the recipe! Served it with a homemade mac n cheese and a spinach salad with asiago cheese, pine nuts and mushrooms. Was the best "comfort meal" I have ever made (if I do say so myself!). Mom, Dad, hubby and son agreed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made these tonight for dinner. Awesome! So easy, and so tasty. I cut the recipe back because there were only three of us. I did use less brown sugar than called for. I also fried my bacon ahead of time, the sauteed the onions in the leftover bacon grease. I didn't have any red wine vinegar on hand so skipped it. Just one delicious recipe that was super easy to make. Thank you, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Really yummy!! Followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I omitted the bacon and added a package of beef hot dogs. Wow!! Added a tossed salad and wow, what a great, simple dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These baked beans were excellent! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tray_H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I used vegetarian baked beans and left out the bacon. It was SO good - everyone loved it and there were no leftovers. Also, I didn't have red wine vinegar on hand so I used apple cider vinegar instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
this is as close to my step moms recipe i can find. lost hers. i saw someone mentioning liquid smoke and i knew i was close.now i just need to figure out ammounts. thanks! if i can get close its a GREAT baked bean recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perky
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Awesome and Easy...follow the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I have made this several times, its very good, very easy, and I usually have everything on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
These are wonderful. My first time making baked beans and I was very pleased. I think it is important if you are going to rate a recipe you should make it as written. If you go about making a lot of changes and then give it a bad rating, that is terribly misleading to the system. Off my soap box! The only place I deviated is rather than lay two slices of bacon on top, I chopped up the two slices and sprinkled them on top. This made it much easier to serve and the bacon was nice and just crispy. The only change I think I might make next time is to drain one of the cans of beans. Very very good and very easy. ***EDIT*** I made this for a second time, drained one can of beans and it was just a bit better!! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Yumm! Very good proportions. As others suggested I fried the bacon first, then sauted the onions in part of the remaining bacon grease. I like green bell peppers in baked beans, so I sauteed about 3/4 of a cup chopped peppers along with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States