Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Yum! Will definitely be making these again. Had always just bought the canned baked beans but these are so much better. I did cut back on the sugar just a bit but other than that follwed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dondra108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I made these baked beans for a picnic and everyone loved them. The only thingI did different was to cut down on the sugar. I will make these for many picnics in the future. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I will never use another baked beans recipe. I made this on Tuesday for a barbeque and everyone loved it! The only change I made was to use slightly less sugar and I also cooked the bacon about halfway before topping the beans with it. It was great and I will definitely make again soon. ETA: I have made these beans several times since my original review and these beans are consistently delicious! To those who have issues with this being runny, I always "drain" the liquid from my beans before adding the ingredients. Don't know if this helps or not, but my beans are never, ever runny. I guess it may depend on what brand of canned beans you use, but I always use the store brand from Walmart and they tend to have a bit of liquid in them, so I simply drain the liquid and continue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These were great with a few changes - cut sugar and ketchup to 1/4 c like others suggested. Beans are sweet enough as is.. Used plain baked beans- not pork. Put in crock pot- high for 4 hours with 3 slices bacon ontop. They were SO easy to make- will def make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I used less brown sugar and I still thought it was grossly sweet. However, my family loved it and raved that they were the greatest and sweetest beans they've ever had....so if you like sweet beans go for it, but it's not for me....OR make sure the store bought beans are sugar free before you add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Absolutely stupendous! (that is a word, yes?). Do NOT cut back on the brown sugar, as that is the key to just how delicious this recipe is. Baked beans never tasted so good. Don't be afraid to bake a bit longer than called for, as the bacon gets nice and crispy and the beans then really bond with the other great ingredients. Get frisky and add 1/4 cup bourbon and just look out! I keep receiving rave reviews for something seemingly mundane as baked beans....love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Delicious! I did cut back to 1/4 cup for the brown sugar, and after making them I will also cut back on the ketchup when I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These taste just like the beans my dad made growing up. Great to have a recipe as dad just "dumped" things in. With some playing around, I've found my favorite is to use 4 slices of applewood smoked bacon and soak navy beans instead of the canned, if I'm planning ahead. The applewood bacon adds a touch of extra flavor that really makes these "pop". We like these better the next day, making them perfect for a cookout with friends.. gotta love those make ahead things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsgma

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Fabulas recipe the only thing I changed is the bacon; I added precooked ham chunks about 2cups. A wounderfull alturnative. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I doubled the recipe, but cut the brown sugar in half as others suggested. Cooked in the crock pot for a couple of hours without the lid so it wouldn't be so watery. I took them to a party so the crock pot was nice to keep them warm and easy to seve from. Everybody said they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States