Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
VERY TASTY!! I was hungry for baked beans, but I didn't have the assortment of beans I needed to make my favorite recipe, so I thought I'd give this a try. We both liked these a lot. It may not replace my favorite, but it's great to make if you just have regular canned baked beans on hand. My can of beans was 28 oz., so I scaled back the other ingredients a bit and only ended up using 3 T. of brown sugar. The bacon on the top may have added flavor, but it didn't crisp up for me and was unappealing looking when it came out of the oven. I might skip the bacon next time to compare. Regardless, I will make this one again! Thank you!! UPDATE 11/13/12 - I made this again and instead of putting the raw bacon on top, I cooked the bacon completely in the microwave, crumbled it and mixed it in with the beans. I would do that again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Good recipe. One potential addition that would always be found in TX/OK barbecue: put in a bit of liquid smoke, to taste. I prefer the mesquite, though you might also try hickory. It gives a unique piquancy and aroma that is very pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was very tasty, but the next time I make it, i think I'll cut down on the sugar. it was a little on the sweet side. Also, I accidentally used an extra piece of bacon, but how can extra bacon be a bad thing =-) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Alright, but not rave-worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Fantastic and easy. I usually don't have time to actually bake them, so I start by sauteing the onion, then add 1/2 lb of chopped raw bacon. When the bacon's mostly done frying, I add the rest of the ingredients and simmer. It's terrific this way, but I'm sure it's great according to the original recipe, too. There are rarely leftovers in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These beans are wonderful! I didn't change something though... instead of cooking them in the oven, I cook them on the stove and simmer them for 20 mins. I also used real bacon bits instead of slices of uncooked bacon. These were easy and really yummy! This is now our go-to grill out side recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great Beans! As the Author states, adjust to personal taste. We use 1/2 the amount of brown sugar, small amount of Sweet Baby Rays instead of ketchup and crumble the bacon on top. Perfect for BBQ or picnic. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Simply delicious! I used a can of Bushs onion beans and left out the onion, I also didn't have any red wine vinegar so I just added some white vinegar in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very very good. I used Pork & beans 30oz can and drained about 1/3 of liquid off. I cut my bacon in pieces and folded them into the beans after they were done. I'll make this again....many times....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I took it to a function and only a few beans were left in the pan. A very good recipe. I did add some cut up, sauteed onions and bell peppers and a lot more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States