Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
LOVE IT!!! I took this to a school function...twice. Each time; there were no leftovers. I use busch's baked beans with maple syrup. The best part you can make this a day ahead and it actually tastes better. Has time for the flavors to mix together. Best beans I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Giovetti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendo, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This recipe is delicious. So easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Awesome!!!! Quick and easy, flavorful and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was a really good recipe. Will definitely make again. Mine turned out a little soupy. I used Campbell's Pork & Beans. I used turkey bacon for the bacon and a sweet vidalia onion. For the mustard, I used Spicy Brown Mustard. I was surprised it didn't taste mustardy. It was a really good balance! I also didn't have regular brown sugar so I used the Splenda brown sugar blend. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is the fact that is was too soupy for my liking. I will try with a different brand of beans next time to see if that fixes the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is pretty much the recipe I use and that has been a part of my family ever since I can remember. There are some minor changes I make. First, 2 28oz cans of Bush Homestyle beans will make a good amount for a crowd. For my family of 5, just one can will do. I do NOT DRAIN THE CANS!!!!! You will lose flavor! Take out that nasty piece of salt pork or whatever it is. Dump the beans in a crock pot. I don't bother sauteing the onion or cooking the bacon before hand. I just cut up my bacon (1/2 lb for the 2 large cans I mentioned) and onion and put it right in with the beans. I eyeball the ketchup, mustard, and brown sugar, but I know that my ratio is different. If I had to guess, I'd say I probably use about 3/4 cup ketchup for the 2 cans of beans I mentioned earlier, 1 (maybe 2) tablespoons of mustard, and 2 or 3 loose handfuls of brown sugar. Let it cook all day on low. About an hour or so before you want to serve it, give it a taste to see if it needs anything, and if seems soupy, just turn the crock pot up for that last hour. These are the only baked beans I will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I made these baked beans tonight for couples bunco, and the people are very picky and they loved "my bake beans!" all i kept hearing was who made the beans, I love them! (and even forgot to put in the ketcup! lol.. these are great, quick and easy to make!I did put in a little less Mustard, cause I hate mustard! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
These were quick and easy! I did make them twice; once as directed and the second time I had to improvise. The second time around, I was out of onion so I added about 2 tbsps. of dried chopped onion. I was also out of bacon so I decided to omit it. I do have to say that it tasted better with the bacon just for that extra crunch, but no one really noticed until I mentioned that I'd left it out. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These beans were very good. I made it with Turkey bacon instead to cut down on the fat. Next time I would put a little less mustard in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frontier_man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcus, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I used only 5 slices of bacon, cooking 4 in the microwave and only one, chopped up, in a pan with the chopped onion. I used 2 28-oz. cans of bush's original baked beans. Put in my slow cooker on low for 2 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
They taste better than they look! Having a cookout today, they should go over pretty well. Easy to make and it makes a lot! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States