Baked Beans from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made these as is, and they really deserve the five stars! They had an excellent balance of sweet and tangy, and my son and I loved them! A few people have mentioned how sweet these are. They are very very sweet. But as a side with a salty meat and non-sweet salad and dressing, thise was actually a good foil. On their own, they might be too sweet. You may wonder about the 4 instead of five stars. I loved the idea of beans that did not require bacon or salt pork. And they were good as is. However, I felt like the smoky flavour that these cured pork products bring was truly missing, even though the syrup does bring a modicum of smokiness to the recipe. I ended up adding one teaspoon of smoked paprika. This gave them a more apparent, albeit mild, smoky flavour without being overpowering, and without the need for adding fat through smoked meats. This really did add to the overall depth of the flavour. Having said that, even as is these are pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This is one of the best bean recipes I have ever made! We can't do sugar at our household so I use sugar free maple syrup and a brown sugar substatute. On my husband's request I also add cut up bacon. Now that we know we enjoy this I am up to 4x's the recipe. The bean keep well in the frig and the flavor just keeps soaking into them. I have also put the in quart bags and froze them with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I am not a big fan of baked beans my fiance and daughter are so I wanted to try some from scratch for our Memorial Day dinner. I tried this recipe and couldn't stop eating the beans myself! (I was a bit confused by the scaling though because it says is makes 5 cups with only 1 cup of beans and when you try to change the number of servings, it starts with 10? We were having a few people over so I said I needed 40 servings and it was perfect even though I started with about 79 oz of beans). I used canned beans to cut down on some the cooking time we opted for great northern beans. I also cut out the chili powder and cooked bacon to add in. I sauteed the onion in the bacon fat and poured it all into the pan with the beans (I also seasoned the beans with seasoned salt) and added 2 tablespoons of dry mustard and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. (I also added a cup of water to make up for the cooking liquid in the recipe but will omit next time as it took the sauce too long to thicken). These were perfect, not too sweet as some of the reviews say (in fact, I added extra brown sugar to adjust to the sweetness level we were looking for). We will never use canned baked beans again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. I did as some of the others suggested: soaked overnight, cooked for one hour, then made in the crock pot. I doubled the recipe so that I could use the whole bag of beans (1#). The only thing I added was a tsp. of cider vinegar and a dash of mustard. The first bite was a little sweet but after only a second I was in heaven. These taste so much better than canned beans and I know exactly what went into them. For the cost of one can of name brand beans, I made a whole crock pot full. Thank you for the great recipe. I am going to always have these on hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lohewitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
EXCELLENT RECIPE! This is the 4th time in the past 2months I have made these BAKED BEANS from "scratch". I have added diced uncooked bacon because I like the added flavor. My area food-bank will be getting ALL the "canned bake beaned" in my cupboard. Frankly, I always used to "tweak" canned beans whenever I made them. Not only is this recipe more cost effective than canned but they are oh so much better on the 'YUMMY" FACTOR thanks WKNDYCHEF for taking the time to share this KEEPER of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Whoever gave this less than 5 stars is drunk. I joined this website just so I could comment on this recipe. I soaked the dry beans overnight, threw them in the crockpot and decreased water to 3 cups. Added a 1/2 tsp of dry mustard and two slices of bacon in with all the other ingredients, and set the crockpot on low for eight hours. I came home from work and walked in the door and .. oh .. my .. god. The smell alone was enough to warrant the effort. Upon eating them, I died. Seriously. So good that I died. I'm using the allrecipes review forum as a medium from the other side. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
My family loves it! The directions are easy to follow and the end result is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
dry dry dry....I wouldn't recommend this recipe to anyone...Pure paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I LOVED this recipe and so did everybody else! I made this for thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! I'm not one for those spicy bean mixes, I'm definitely a sweet person, so this was perfect! I would useless water next time, I also cooked it in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
After reading alot of the reviews I decided to try this recipe and I'm so happy I did. My family loved the beans. I followed the recipe to the letter for the most part only adding green bell pepper and minced onions to my recipe and cooking them in the crock pot in the final step (that way I could go to sleep). I'll use this recipe again and again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States