Baked BBQ Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
A lot of work .... as preparing chicken always is...but good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and loved it! We used our favorite sauce and it turned out just like one of our favorite resturant's! Looks like we'll be saving a ton of money in the future....lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My husband and I like this recipe we've only tried it once but we will try it again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
We weren't terribly crazy about this as written. The mesquite seasoning was definitely unappealing to me...just added a very strong artificial tasting, smoky flavoring that I will surely omit completely should I attempt this recipe again. We used less flour and salt because we had less chicken. The chicken turned out pretty soggy following the recipe, so I'd also modify the way it's fried / baked should I do it again. Perhaps just baking it instead of frying in oil. Would be decent if it turned out crispier and without using any of the mesquite seasoning whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
It took more than one bottle of bbq sauce in order to cover the entire thing, but other then that, I got rave reviews on it. I also changed it up and browned it in avacado oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
We enjoyed this recipe. I am so glad that I did not add that much salt, because it would have been inedible. I also cut down the six cups of flour. I did sub garlic powder for the minced garlic, just to save on time (dinner was running late). You do have to make sure not to overlap the chicken, because it will not crisp up. Next time, I will put them under the broiler for a few minutes to make them even crispier. Overall, it is a pretty good recipe and I can see myself making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I did adjust the seasonings to my tastes. I didn't have any mesquite and it seems really good without. I don't like a 'smokey' flavor. I do agree that brushing the sauce on is better than pouring it on. Yummy! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This here is good eatin' - even if your BBQ gets rained out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judd Jugmonger
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Well, I had to try this. And GOOD LORD!!! Way way to much salt. Talk about an sodium overload. I will not be making this again per the ingredients. I looked at the reviews after I made this. And it was soo pungent with salt it was really not good. There was salt in the liquids and salt in the flour mixture, not to mention salt in the dry mesquite. Not to mention a bit to much pepper as well. I kept thinking, maybe I'm just thinking about this all wrong. Until I made the 1st batch and it was a total waste. The salt and pepper really was an over kill. I'm sorry. I made a 2nd batch and omited salt and pepper out of the liquid and reduced the water to 1/2 cup and increased the milk to 3/4 cup. On the flour mixture I decreased the salt to a couple of tablespoons. And left everything else the same. If your going to self-rising flour....totally omit all salt out of this recipe. Will not be making this recipe ever again. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
It seemed like too much flour for that amount of chicken, plus the liquid part seemed kind of runny, but it worked . I thawed out more chicken to try to use up the whole 6 cups of flour. Also, when I put the chicken in the oven on aluminum foil, the outside flour part came off when I tried to turn them. Maybe I should have sprayed the foil first with oil spray. Anyhow, the coating is coming off on some of them and just made it a little messy. They look good, but hubby will try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States