Baked Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
IMO the single biggest problem with this recipe is that it’s like chopped artichokes swimming in oil. I kept dabbing the dip with paper towels, it kept reducing in size, but as you dipped, it was just more liquid. The taste is good, it has a nice tang, but we just couldn’t deal with all of the floating oil. I’d give this a 4 for taste, but a 1 for eye appeal, so overall, I’m giving it a 3. Sorry, this one just didn’t work for us, and I’m going back to my SIL’s recipe, which also is tastier and breaks down much better nutritionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I added an extra jar of artichoke hearts which made it more artichoke then mayonnaise tasting. I also served it with Stacy's pita chips which was less filing then bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I used less mayo and added some chopped olives. It was great!! I also made pita chips to go with it and it was gone in 5 mins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
My husband didn't like the mayo so much. So I did again with sour cream and he loved it, everyone one else did too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damber79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This dip was pretty good. I think it would benefit from some sour cream or cream cheese. I added lots of garlic. It was a little too greasy but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
My friend made this dip for Thanksgiving and we all loved it. It was gone before all the appetizers were even set out! Try adding extra cheese- she put in mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is the best artichoke dip for my taste as some of the ones with peppers are too hot. I do add lots more garlic (6-8 cloves) and vary the cheese variety. I just lay a paper towel on top when it comes out of the oven to soak up the grease. Easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I normally have my own recipe for artichoke dip,but I wanted to try something different.Although it smelled wonderful baking,it was a little too runny and oily for my taste.I even added spinach for color,but it looked unappealing,and disappointingly not as good as my own dip*LOL* sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I made this last weekend, served it in a sourdough bread bowl and served it with sliced baguette. It was the hit of the party! I couldn't believe the crowd around it, at one point, guests got spoons and just ate globs of it. One thing is that it is quite greasy. There were pools of oil on the dip when I pulled it out of the oven and it seemed to separate further as it cooled. I might try it with some spinach next time to cut the fat and richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States