Baked Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My family has made this for years. The trick is making your own Russian dressing aka Thousand Island. Same thing. Have tried them all,(bottled), and always gone back to Mom's home made. 1/2 Heins Ketchup and 1/2 Miracle Whip. Trust me. Much thicker and tastier for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
We tried this at our house but could not imagine the flavors working together: Catalina or French with the Apricot preserves sounded too sweet and the Italian with the Apricot just seemed wrong. We liked the idea of the dish so we tried it using our homemade Ginger Soy salad dressing (though I am sure a store bought would work as well). Thinking the Asian influence would work well with the Apricot and served over rice. We choose Sugar Snap Peas and Carrots to round out the plate. Even our picky eater liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
good recipe but way to much fat comes off from the skin... try using skinless tastes just as great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is sooo good!!! Inexpensive and easy! Definitely use Catalina dressing and pineapple chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Ayers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Instead of apricot preserves, I used peach jam; for the French dressing, I used Italian; and for the dry onion soup mix, I used 2 T dried onion; and lastly, added some pepper. I cooked the chicken in a skillet on the stove top with the dressing, turning the chicken a few times and basting it with the dressing. I cooked it for about 1 hour 10 minutes and the chicken was falling off the bones. I served it over rice and my husband, who will eat chicken if he has to, raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe yesterday and loved it. I used Catalina dressing instead of French dressing and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila Amina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
THis is something I made in the 70s. Tried and true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is delicious! I used Catalina and followed Bracky189's recommendations for cooking time and method. I don't know why anyone would have a burned dish unless their oven is too hot. I cooked mine a total of 1 hr. & 20 mins., turning after the 1 hr. period, and it was not over cooked, but tasty and tender. I served over rice using the sauce for the rice. I usually only like white meat chicken but this is just wonderful. Thanks so much for a great chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Hodges

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
My mom made up a recipe just like this years ago and named it Mrs.T Chicken for her last name. however, the only difference is we have always made it with Russian dressing instead. Always quick, easy, and delicious! This chicken dish is a keeper when you are in a squeeze for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This has been an all time favorite family recipe for 30+ years for me and my family. Easy and delightful! My recipe calls for the Russian dressing also which I have always used and which seems to be enjoyed by everyone who's had dinner at our house over the years. Love it and will continue to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: 'S-Hertogenbosch, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States