Baked Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
super easy... I did use catalina dressing and chicken breasts. I served over white rice ... even the super picky 10 yr old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
My picky kids love this!! Simple and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samilner
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe was good. My wife really liked it. It was very easy and we will definitely cook it again. I cooked the chicken meat side up. I think this was a big mistake. It was my mistake. It left the skin side of the chicken in the juice and not browned at all. The next time I'm going to cook it meat side down. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samilner

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was great! I'd recommend using tenders or thinner breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
i made this recipe verbatim and was thrilled with the flavor but disappointed in the thin sauce. I used chicken thighs, as recommended by some, and the sauce had so much grease in it that what didn't actually stick to the chicken, was very runny. Next time i'll try with breasts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I really liked these thighs for something different. Before I review it let me tell you I didn't have french dressing so I used "My Grandmother's French Dressing" from this site and omigosh....YUM. Even if I didn't like this recipe I would have found another recipe by accident. But I did. ....ok first I don't know who cooks 12 thighs at one time, if you have a family that big to cook for I'm jealous. I only have 3 so I cooked 4 large thighs and changed my cooking dish accordingly. I made the full batch of sauce because now I had 3 cups of french dressing and I would have had to use only 1/2 a package of onion soup mix. Even though I try to save stuff like that I end up throwing it away and well I just made the whole batch. I poured half over the chicken and baked for 50 minutes. I removed them from their baking dish, put them on a foil lined cookie sheet, scooped some fresh sauce on top and baked them for 15 minutes longer. Very tender, and a caramelized topping is what came out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I liked the fact that it was quick and easy to prepare. and very tasty. I did taste the sauce before putting it on the chicken and decided to add a tablespoon of lemon juice to cut the sweetness. Served with rice and fresh green beans. It was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Did it just like recipe called for but used boneless skinless thighs, and it was great! It did have a lot of sauce so I am going to have white rice as a side next time and put some of the sauce on my rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomeskic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I cook at Abba's Tables, our local soup kitchen - or as we refer to it - "The Lord's Free Restaurant." We try to provide our guests with a pleasant bistro-type atmosphere - a pleasant hour in the day that they would not otherwise have. I first made this recipe for 100 guests on New Year's eve, serving it with Basmati almond rice, sweet peas, tossed salad with cake and ice cream for dessert. Because we are always trying to stretch our meals, we used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. We chopped the chicken into pieces and boiled them, using only enough water to cover the chicken - if you use too much water you can end up leaving the chicken tasteless. Into the cooking water I place lots of quartered onions, lots of green pepper slices, a big handful of peppercorns, 6 bay leaves, about 1/3 of a cup of squished garlic and 1/2 can of chicken flavor base. After the chicken is cooked, you remove it from the broth being sure to remove peppercorns and bay leaves. Place the chicken into another pot. Now stir in the sauce made of the apricot preserves, the Lipton Onion Mix and I use Catalina Dressing. Keep it warm till ready to serve. In the meantime, I garamelize a gallon full of chopped onions with white sugar and a pound of butter and white pepper. After cooking (in Chicken broth) the potatoes I intend to use, I add the caramelized onions and a quart of heavy whipping cream, and about three pounds of shredded cheddar cheese mixed with Monterey jack cheese. This plates pretty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States