Baked Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I would give more stars if I could! I made a larger batch using 10 apples of all different varieties that we just picked. Let's put it this way, I burned my mouth (more than once) "tasting" this after it came out of the oven. I almost dont want to give it to the kids b/c I know they will gobble it up! Cant wait to make this for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
So delicious and easy. It baked in the oven, while I prepared the rest of dinner. I had 4 medium sweet apples, so I doubled the cinnamon and vanilla and used just 2 Tbl. of sugar (didn't really need the sugar at all). We had some by itself, and also spooned some over vanilla ice cream. Perfect autumn treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Soooo good! Made this today to serve alongside tomorrow night's dinner (I'm making Cathleen Bushman's cinnamon pork tenderloin - it's marinating right now!). The two will pair nicely together! I like the fact that this makes a small amount. I usually purchase apples to keep on hand for snacking, and at any time will have at least two on "stand-by." It's now easier than ever to turn them into homemade applesauce, not to mention there are sooo many uses for it - as a healthy snack, a side to go with dinner or a dessert (think ice cream topping... yum) to name a few. My apples cooked perfectly in 45 minutes. A slight mush with my potato masher produced a beautiful, chunky applesauce. I can't WAIT to take more than a "test" bite of this tomorrow! NOTE: You MUST eat this warm... PERIOD! Thanks for reminding me of my favorite time of year, Mary! This will forever be a repeat at my house. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
AWESOME!!! First time ever making homemade applesauce.. Now make my second batch.. LOVE IT!! Just like eatting apple pie. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Made as written and was delicious....will reduce the sugar by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was far too sweet. I thought 3 tbsp of sugar per apple sounded like too much, so did 1.5 tbsp per apple--but it was still horribly sweet. Next time I would use 1/2 tbsp of sugar per apple. Or maybe just lightly sugar the tops of the apples before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Made in crock pot for family party, to accompany grilled pork chops. Followed recipe exactly, though I did multiply ingredients to yield 20 servings. I sprayed crock pot with pam spray and started pot on low until apples had rendered some juice. then I stirred it and turned to high. I served a little warmer than room temp (because that's how we like our apple sauce). I thought the sugar proportions were just right. Perhaps this is because I used tart (granny smith) apples. I didn't have to mash the apples, they broke apart when I stirred them. This made the kitchen smell fantastic while it was cooking. I will make this again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I made this applesauce and it was amazing. My mother, grandmother and husband all thought it was too sweet though. I think they are just used to store-bought applesauce. My uncle, brother and I all loved it though. I'll be making it again, but I'll probably use half the sugar and cinnamon just to appease the other people in the house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
this was really good! i'm not a big fan of baked apples (really don't like apple pie), but even I thought this was yummy and my boyfriend thought it was the best part of the meal! i used granny smith apples so it wouldn't come out too sweet. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was AMAZING!! I wanted an applesauce that reminded me of "fall" and this hit the spot! :) I did have to put them back into the oven because the apples were still hard when the bake time was over. I went out and bought more apples today to make lots of it tomorrow to can! I think I'm going to try it in the slow cooker to see how it turns out. The house will smell sooo yummy! Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States