Baked Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Oh my is this stuff ever good!!! And, it really brings back memories because my Grandma Jean used to make homemade applesauce all the time and it was incredible! Well, tonight I was making her "double breaded pork chops" and nothing but homemade applesauce would do for a side dish. I doubled this recipe using 4 large Granny Smith apples and threw in a couple Red Delicious for good measure. I also added 1/2 cup of water. It took about an hour in the oven and was very easy to mash with a fork. The house smelled great as it was baking and while it might not be my Grandma's according to my husband - "it was awesome"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I adjust this recipe for 10 apples and sometimes 20 apples...It is the best. I also use a potato masher to mash the apples. My mom says this is the best ever but warms hers up and puts whipped cream on it for a crustless "apple pie." My kids and daycare kids love it warmed up or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Berish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I always boil the cores and shavings of the apples in order to do Agua de Manzana (Apple Water), as we call it in Peru. I also pure, through a siever, some of this in the applesauce if necessary. I am the kind that uses the whole product if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I loved this. It will go perfect with hubbies oatmeal. I used a mix of Splenda & Brown Sugar Splenda. Added in my homemade pumpkin pie spice. Drained a bit of the juice. It's so good! I did use 4 gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is a great, easy recipe! I added about 1 t ginger, 1/4 t cardamom, 1/4 t nutmeg and used honey in place of some of the sugar...oh, and the above amounts are for a nearly tripled recipe - I had a lot of apples on hand! I just ate some over ice cream - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
For almost sixty years my family has loved my applesauce. But this recipe went over the top! I will probably never make it the "old" way again. Everyone went nuts over this recipe. Thanks much, Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
The only change I made was substituting brown sugar for half of the sugar. This was a hit at Christmas dinner and everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Soooo good! Made this today to serve alongside tomorrow night's dinner (I'm making Cathleen Bushman's cinnamon pork tenderloin - it's marinating right now!). The two will pair nicely together! I like the fact that this makes a small amount. I usually purchase apples to keep on hand for snacking, and at any time will have at least two on "stand-by." It's now easier than ever to turn them into homemade applesauce, not to mention there are sooo many uses for it - as a healthy snack, a side to go with dinner or a dessert (think ice cream topping... yum) to name a few. My apples cooked perfectly in 45 minutes. A slight mush with my potato masher produced a beautiful, chunky applesauce. I can't WAIT to take more than a "test" bite of this tomorrow! NOTE: You MUST eat this warm... PERIOD! Thanks for reminding me of my favorite time of year, Mary! This will forever be a repeat at my house. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Our family is applesauce snobs because my mother-in-law's homemade applesauce is so delicious, we can't even look at store-bought anymore. I made this recipe for my in-laws this week, and they loved it - it got rave reviews from the queen herself. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Well my boyfriend's mother used to make homemade applesauce for him all the time, but he hasn't seen her in years. I made him this and he loved it, I only got a few spoonfuls but I loved it too. Thanks for helping me to make his day! Enjoy the recipe I know I did, and will again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States