Baked Apples with Sweet Potato Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I chose this recipe because it sounded so unusual and also healthy. It was pretty good, but a taste we're so unused to that I'm not sure this is something we'd crave. I don't know if I'd make it again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
did not love this recipe, but did not hate it either. It was difficult to get all of the stuffing inside and I would make fewer at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
easy to make and they taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This was the talk of our Thanksgiving meal. No one in my family will eat sweet potatoes except for this recipe!! The family expects them every Thanksgiving now because they look and taste so special!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I served this at Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! It was a nice change from the usual sweet potato and apple pie. When they were finished they were so pretty at first no one wanted to cut into them! I added mini marshmellows to the sweet potato stuffing for a little extra sweetness. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
We liked this very much, and it was so different, you're sure not to be bored with the flavors. Really unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! There were 3 (of 10) who said they didn't like apples, but each one loved the dish. The subtle pineapple flavor was a nice suprise that everyone enjoyed. There was plenty of "stuffing" left over and I added marshmellows to the top of a small casserole dish and that was gobbled up, too! The only changes I may make in the future was to cut wider holes, allowing more stuffing to be in the apple. I used Granny Smith, which were perfect apples to use for this dish. (I also bought a bag of cinnamon hard candies since I couldn't find the "red hots" easily. I melted them in a crock pot with water. This worked wonderfully!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was delicious! We got a fruit basket with some apples that were rapidly approaching ripeness and I didn't want them to go bad. We had these as dessert and they did not disappoint. Next time I might try some mini-marshmallows in the stuffing to add a little more sweetness, but on the whole these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I picked this recipe for our Thanksgiving dinner for our family and friends. When I sent out the menu including this,people weren't too receptive at first. The dish is a little involved to cook, but it is worth every single bit. It was such a hit at dinner, that everyone wants the recipe. I'll be making this again, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Just made it for 18, for Thanksgiving... It was well received by all. Cooked the apples in the cinnamon water for about 20 minutes and upped the baking time to 40 minutes at 350, before adding the marsh mellos under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States