Baked Apples in Butter Brandy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for a Thanksgiving desert. I knew it was good when my non-food obsessed wife gave it compliments. Very easy, but I would start checking at about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This is delicious, and very easy to make. The hardest part is coring the apples. We used pears and apples. I liked the pears a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This recipe was delicious but overly sweet. Did you mean to have only 1/2 cup sugar in it? I compared it to other baked apple recipes, and they all have about 2 Tablespoons sugar per apple. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I didn't want to wait an hour to bake this dessert so I put all the ingredients (I downsized the recipe for 1 person=1 apple) into a hot skillet and it was quick and yummy. I drizzled the apples and sauce on vanilla bean ice cream and refused to share with my husband. Wonderful recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was very sweet and apple pie-y, but I had some tartness because I used Granny Smith apples. The presentation was poor...when I removed the foil the apples looked rather smushed not very appealing. Nevertheless it was good. I didn't taste ANY brandy, so next time I will decrease some of the sugar and increase the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I didn't have any ginger or cloves, but it turned out fantastic anyways!!! I just had very cheap brandy and it wasn't overpowering at all. It was great with vanilla ice cream and wasn't too unhealthy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
overall these apples were very tasty. The nutmeg and allspice were a little over powering but everyone still thought they were pretty good. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
It was not stated whether to pack the brown sugar or not, and when I made it it was too sweet. because I packed the brown sugar. A deeper pan could have been used also because it does boil over! Too much brandy for my liking. But generally it was liked by those that I served it to. Also I used whipped cream because I did not have ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This is a very tasty receipe and a differnet way to use up apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe was amazingly fantastic and unbelieveably easy! Because I wanted to eat this for a "before-bed-time-snack" I cut the apples into quarters, so I could make smaller servings. After eating my first serving, over ice cream, I was so amazed at how wonderful it tasted, I froze the remaining quarters with all the sauce into 5 more individual plastic containers. Now all I need to do is transfer the frozed servings into a micro-waveable bowl, heat for a minute or so, serve with ice cream and bingo - a marvelous night time snack. Thank you "Chef_In_Skool.....so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States