Baked Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I will try this recipe again BUT I think next time I won't cook the apples in advance, or will cook them less. They were a bit too mushy for my taste. I used Granny Smith. Other than the texture, the taste was great - I appreciate the fact that this is a recipe that uses Splenda instead of sugar. Really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Photo by Randall
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Made with 3 Gala apples and a cup of blueberries. Also used real sugar. Brushed the tops with a beaten whole egg and sprinkled with cinnamon/sugar! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I'm not a big cooked fruit lover. After accidentally pulverizing my apples (and, incidentally, making applesauce), I REALLY loved this recipe. My only recommendation is to really make sure you cool down that filling. If you put it onto the pie crust warm, you'll have a lot of difficulty putting it onto a cookie sheet. Roll out the crust, position it where you want it on the cookie sheet, THEN fill it. Otherwise, you could end up with a mess. I rolled it out on parchment paper and transferred the turnovers that way. This is really worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was really good. I found using my little trio dumpling set worked great in making cute little turnover pies. They were tasty and easy to make. Will make these again. And what's really nice is that I can easily change out the flour and pie crust for a gluten free alternative for an inlaw that's going to be visiting! Yeah me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These were near perfect. I did bump up the cinnamon to a tsp. These would be even better with homemade crust...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Instead of "turnovers," I guess I made "baked apple pies," but shaping them differently was the only change. The Splenda provided just enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
So very delicious! I thought I wouldn't like the consistency of the filling - but in the final product it was Just Right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
These were so good. The crust was wonderful on them and I just used an affordable store brand crust. I used the apples, I had already, which I believe were gala apples. It took about eighteen minutes for my apples to cook down. I used a Norpro mini Apple mold to cut the shapes and help fill and seal them. So, I went with round pies. I got four and then pressed out the dough scraps and I got two more. I still used the 3 Tblsp. of filling in each. They were filled plenty. I was left with a good 1/2 cup, or a little more, of filling. It was no problem, because it is fine on its own like a thick apple sauce. I baked the pies on a parchment lined sheet, sprayed with Pam. They took twenty minutes to bake. I just wish pie crust, was a little more healthy because I want to keep eating more. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Excellent! We made for Thanksgiving treat. Very simple and fast to make Spfld Missouri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Very nice taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKREYENHAGEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coalinga, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States