Baked Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I'm not a big cooked fruit lover. After accidentally pulverizing my apples (and, incidentally, making applesauce), I REALLY loved this recipe. My only recommendation is to really make sure you cool down that filling. If you put it onto the pie crust warm, you'll have a lot of difficulty putting it onto a cookie sheet. Roll out the crust, position it where you want it on the cookie sheet, THEN fill it. Otherwise, you could end up with a mess. I rolled it out on parchment paper and transferred the turnovers that way. This is really worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was really good. I found using my little trio dumpling set worked great in making cute little turnover pies. They were tasty and easy to make. Will make these again. And what's really nice is that I can easily change out the flour and pie crust for a gluten free alternative for an inlaw that's going to be visiting! Yeah me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These were near perfect. I did bump up the cinnamon to a tsp. These would be even better with homemade crust...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Instead of "turnovers," I guess I made "baked apple pies," but shaping them differently was the only change. The Splenda provided just enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
So very delicious! I thought I wouldn't like the consistency of the filling - but in the final product it was Just Right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
These were so good. The crust was wonderful on them and I just used an affordable store brand crust. I used the apples, I had already, which I believe were gala apples. It took about eighteen minutes for my apples to cook down. I used a Norpro mini Apple mold to cut the shapes and help fill and seal them. So, I went with round pies. I got four and then pressed out the dough scraps and I got two more. I still used the 3 Tblsp. of filling in each. They were filled plenty. I was left with a good 1/2 cup, or a little more, of filling. It was no problem, because it is fine on its own like a thick apple sauce. I baked the pies on a parchment lined sheet, sprayed with Pam. They took twenty minutes to bake. I just wish pie crust, was a little more healthy because I want to keep eating more. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Excellent! We made for Thanksgiving treat. Very simple and fast to make Spfld Missouri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Very nice taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKREYENHAGEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coalinga, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creating Beauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
These are great! Baked apples and Splenda seem to go =very= well together... mmmmm... plus the slightly salty crust... yummers. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States