Baked Apple Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Baked two apples, and it took about 25 minutes for them to become tender. Taste is pretty much like an apple pie filling. The Granny Smith apple gives you a nice tart contrast to the sweetness of the sugar-cinnamon mixture. Next time, I'll try using the granulated Splenda to reduce calories. Very nice, fresh side dish or dessert (either with a dollop of whip cream or a scoop of ice cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This rarely happens, but this recipe was strange. It is a new recipe and baked apples sounded great! I thought the cornstarch was different but decided to give it a try. I am unsure of the purpose of the cornstarch because it was like eating apples in paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I love baked apples so I gave this a try to go along side pancakes for breakfast. I used two Granny Smith apples, brown sugar vs. white and upped the cinnamon a bit. I baked it longer than 15 minutes... and this can easily be done in the microwave if you're short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I really like this, i added some crushed/crumbled walnuts into it and is tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I tried this exactly as it states and it was good but the cornstarch and water was like a gummy sludge on the bottom of pan. Other than that the apples were very good. Not sure what the cornstarch and water was for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Dorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I did this with two apples and sliced them down like you would for a pie. My toddler loves fruit, so I wanted to give her something a little sweet but still kinda healthy. I didn't change the amounts of sugar, water or cornstarch. I also added 1 tbsp of lemon juice and upped the baking time to 25 minutes (I didn't want the apples too mushy and that was just right). According to a nutrition calculator I use, this makes it around 45.5 calories for 6 servings (remember, I'm serving this to my toddler). All in all, this recipe was great. The only real change I made was using the lemon juice. If the baby doesn't like it, it is not the fault of the recipe! This tastes just like apple pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
one Tablespoon of corn starch to 2 1/2 Tablespoons of water does make wallpaper paste. I made it again with two apples, 5 tablespoons of water and a teaspoon of cornstarch, with a bit extra of cinnamon and 3 Tablespoons of honey. That made the sauce something to spoon over ice cream with the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The apples were tasty!! I didn't use nearly as much sugar...I had more than ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I enjoyed it as is, and my husband liked it over ice-cream while it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe is great! It is super easy and fun for the kids. TIP: when the apples are finished baking and you unstick the apples from the baking sheet, there is clear sticky stuff under the apple slice. That is the stuff that you want, that is the sugar and the sweetness of the apple. If you want your apples to be sweet make sure you eat that also. It is not going to hurt you, it is just the sugar that has been baked. Hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States