Baked Apple Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I was apprehensive at first because I've only used the instant apple oatmeal in the past, but I tasted it even before I baked it. Delicious! Thank you for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was very easy to make and it tasted delicious. My husband said it was a "keeper" and I really enjoyed it too. I love that I can reheat it and have again any time of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
AMAZING!!!! I made a single serving, used less sugar and added a tsp of praline sugar free maple syrup baked and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Like bread pudding for breakfast! This is a great basic recipe that can be easily modified with other fruit, nut and spice combinations... - Instead of apples, try peaches, bananas or pears. - Try swapping the raisins for dried cranberries - which have a pretty color and a nice tartness. - Use whatever nuts you like, and try adding 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. I agree with the other reviewers that MORE fruit is better, so I use closer to 3 cups of chopped fruit. If you don't like wheat germ (or you've never had it), just swap it for an extra 1/2 cup of oats and you'll never miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Don't underestimate this dish, it is 5 stars!! I made the 3 serving version in a pie plate. I left out the wheat germ. It baked for 45 mins and had a delicious brown bottom crust. The 2 of us had enough for seconds. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I've tried many of the baked oatmeal recipes on this site and others since I run a bed and breakfast. This is by far the best one I have made, and the recipe was requested by guests. I used almond milk to keep the cholesterol level down and I didn't have wheat germ so I simply used extra oatmeal (I used the old fashioned kind and let it sit for an hour before baking). This will be my "go-to" baked oatmeal recipe from now on. Thanks for the great posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is a great basic recipe you can modify easily - I often only measure the milk and oats. I also normally cut back on the sugar, forget to add the nuts and raisins and add equal amounts of wheat germ and wheat or oat bran. Adding bran makes the taste more mild. That might help those who were having trouble with an "off" flavor - wheat germ has a very strong flavor. I've also had success adding peaches instead of apples. And it does look quite unglamorous when it is ready to eat, but it tastes glorious! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Perfect consistency and not too sweet. So delicious! Will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I loved that this was super super filling. I didn't even have a full serving and I was still not super hungry at lunch time. I didn't love the tast though. It was okay, but not great- just not as flavorful as I would have liked. But, wow- I still not cannot believe how filling it was. I will reheat some tomorrow and maybe sprinkle with a bit of sugar. It just didn't seem to have as much flavor as I would have liked. Between the okay, but not great taste, and how filling it was, I went with 4 stars (although 3 1/2 is probably more accurate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I made this with craisins and raspberries and omitted the nuts. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States