Baked Alaska Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I cheated a little and used sliced pound cake cake as a base then I poured some Baileys liquour over it before the ice cream was added. Other than that it went like a dream. If you have a chefs blow torch you don't even need to put it in the oven as your are not actually cooking the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This recipe was great but was a little confused when it came to preparing the cake. This recipe called for 1 egg along with the almond extract but if you prepare the cake mix by the directions on the box it calls for 3 eggs so I went by the box directions and it turned out really good. Everyone was amazed that the Baked Alaska didn't melt and was very tasty. We used orange/pineapple ice cream which was very yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My family loves this and my kids ask me to make this for their birthday cakes. I make this with a browine bottom instead of a cake bottom (make as directed on box). You can also line your bowl with saran wrap. Once the brownie has cooled completely and the ice cream is hard, I put the ice cream on top of the brownie and spread the meringue over the top of the ice cream and to the bottom of the brownie. Make sure that you have a fairly thick layer of meringue completley covering everything or your ice cream will melt. I bake this at 375 until lightly brown. Freeze left overs. Once frozen it is hard to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
First of all, I only needed 3 egg whites for the meringue. This was a fun and special treat for my husband on Valentine's day, but a little disappointing for all of the effort it took. I can get as much enjoyment out of a bowl of cake and ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I found this recipe to good, but too boring compared to other Baked Alaska's I've enjoyed. Try using a cookie base for the base (prepared cookie dough), and adding some fun to the ice cream, such as crushed candy or candy bar. Also, you cannot stress enough the importance of having the meringue truly meet every edge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I am actually rating the meringue portion of this recipe. I wanted to make an ice cream pie topped with meringue, so I crushed a bunch of Oreos and patted them down into a glass pie plate with some butter and a little sugar. After baking that for a bit, I placed it in the freezer to cool and then spooned in some yummy coffee ice cream. That went in the freezer again. Once it was nearly rock solid, I whipped up 3 room-temperature egg whites with a handheld mixer on low in a large ceramic (never use plastic) bowl. I added 1/8 tsp cream of tartar and 1/2 cup sugar, slowly as it mixed and increased the speed in increments. I grabbed the pie out of the freezer and spread the meringue on top, making sure to meet all the edges. The peaks weren't extremely stiff, but they held up when I swirled them around. I baked my concoction for about 6 minutes in the oven, but unfortunately the ice cream melted quite a bit. Perhaps the cake serves as a buffer. Anyway, I froze it all over again and it turned out lovely, without weeping at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Try a brownie base- this was a family treat when I was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I've had this before and it was INCREDIBLE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This was spectacular! I don't think that you need that many egg whites though. I used only 4 and had more than enough. Thanks for a great recipe! :-))))) A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made my first baked alaska using this recipe as a baseline. I used vanilla bean ice cream, haagen daz chocolate ice cream, and HD rasberry sorbet softened, spreading one layer at a time in a medium tupperware bowl, freezing between layers. I baked 1/2 of Hersheys best choc cake recipe in a round layer cake pan that was the same size across as the tupperware bowl. I spread abt 1/4 c melted raspberry jam on the cooled cake and then put the cake, jam side down, on top of the frozen ice cream layers,smashing it in place with plastic wrap, and put it back in the freezer overnight. I made the meringue as the recipe reads, only I used 10 egg whites, unmolded my ice cream cake into a baking sheet covered with parchment( I covered the bowl for a few minutes with a warm damp towel to loosen) I covered the whole thing with the meringue, then back to the freezer for several hours. Right before serving, I put about 1/2 c of grand marnier in a metal gravy boat, ignited it with my kitchen torch, and poured it , flaming, over the alaska.It was a show stopper! I let it burn until all the alcohol was burned off, and finishd browning the meringue with my torch.. It took 3 days to make, but it was for my husbands birthday, so definitely worth the wait..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States