Baked Alaska Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ahoffort
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I used the chocolate cake recipe "One Bowl Chocolate Cake III" and Maple Walnut ice cream. I also used 6 egg whites instead of 8 because that is what I had. Next time I will use the whole 8. The cake was amazing. Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I increased the almond extract just a little and added I toasted sliced almonds and added them on top of the cake and between layers of chocolate and vanilla ice cream to give the dish a little more texture and keep with the almond flavor. Ditto on the confusion over the number of eggs to add. I added one extra egg to the three called for by the mix and it seemed fine. The cake was probably a little spongier than it would have been otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
i made mine individual size, it was so much easier to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
My sons prefer a Baked Alaska for a birthday cake. I use 4 eggs (the yolks to make the brownie which we use under it, whites with 1/2 c. of sugar). The four whites are enough and work fine:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My family loves this and my kids ask me to make this for their birthday cakes. I make this with a browine bottom instead of a cake bottom (make as directed on box). You can also line your bowl with saran wrap. Once the brownie has cooled completely and the ice cream is hard, I put the ice cream on top of the brownie and spread the meringue over the top of the ice cream and to the bottom of the brownie. Make sure that you have a fairly thick layer of meringue completley covering everything or your ice cream will melt. I bake this at 375 until lightly brown. Freeze left overs. Once frozen it is hard to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
it takes alot of tender loving care but it was definetly worth it! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I cheated a little and used sliced pound cake cake as a base then I poured some Baileys liquour over it before the ice cream was added. Other than that it went like a dream. If you have a chefs blow torch you don't even need to put it in the oven as your are not actually cooking the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I made this as a bit of a joke, since it has a reputation as an incredibly complex dessert. But it wasn't that hard, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
What a nightmare.....I will never attempt again. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I am actually rating the meringue portion of this recipe. I wanted to make an ice cream pie topped with meringue, so I crushed a bunch of Oreos and patted them down into a glass pie plate with some butter and a little sugar. After baking that for a bit, I placed it in the freezer to cool and then spooned in some yummy coffee ice cream. That went in the freezer again. Once it was nearly rock solid, I whipped up 3 room-temperature egg whites with a handheld mixer on low in a large ceramic (never use plastic) bowl. I added 1/8 tsp cream of tartar and 1/2 cup sugar, slowly as it mixed and increased the speed in increments. I grabbed the pie out of the freezer and spread the meringue on top, making sure to meet all the edges. The peaks weren't extremely stiff, but they held up when I swirled them around. I baked my concoction for about 6 minutes in the oven, but unfortunately the ice cream melted quite a bit. Perhaps the cake serves as a buffer. Anyway, I froze it all over again and it turned out lovely, without weeping at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States