Baked Alaska Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Awesome!! I made this for my family and they all loved it and have requested it again and again. The third time I made it, I tried to get creative and use cupcakes and make a bunch of mini baked alaskas. It didn't work. Don't try it. All the ice cream melted. Follow the recipe for best results. My family and I loved it and I will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahoffort
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I used the chocolate cake recipe "One Bowl Chocolate Cake III" and Maple Walnut ice cream. I also used 6 egg whites instead of 8 because that is what I had. Next time I will use the whole 8. The cake was amazing. Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I increased the almond extract just a little and added I toasted sliced almonds and added them on top of the cake and between layers of chocolate and vanilla ice cream to give the dish a little more texture and keep with the almond flavor. Ditto on the confusion over the number of eggs to add. I added one extra egg to the three called for by the mix and it seemed fine. The cake was probably a little spongier than it would have been otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
i made mine individual size, it was so much easier to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
My sons prefer a Baked Alaska for a birthday cake. I use 4 eggs (the yolks to make the brownie which we use under it, whites with 1/2 c. of sugar). The four whites are enough and work fine:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My family loves this and my kids ask me to make this for their birthday cakes. I make this with a browine bottom instead of a cake bottom (make as directed on box). You can also line your bowl with saran wrap. Once the brownie has cooled completely and the ice cream is hard, I put the ice cream on top of the brownie and spread the meringue over the top of the ice cream and to the bottom of the brownie. Make sure that you have a fairly thick layer of meringue completley covering everything or your ice cream will melt. I bake this at 375 until lightly brown. Freeze left overs. Once frozen it is hard to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
it takes alot of tender loving care but it was definetly worth it! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I cheated a little and used sliced pound cake cake as a base then I poured some Baileys liquour over it before the ice cream was added. Other than that it went like a dream. If you have a chefs blow torch you don't even need to put it in the oven as your are not actually cooking the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I made this as a bit of a joke, since it has a reputation as an incredibly complex dessert. But it wasn't that hard, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
What a nightmare.....I will never attempt again. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States