Baked Alaska Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
not to waist them I would probably make a custard of the yolks, and maybe even use it between the layers.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The end result turned out beautiful and tasted great but could not follow the directions as written. The instructions are confusing because as written the cake mix, 1 egg and almond extract does not make a batter. Conversly, making the cake mix as directed adding 1 more egg and almond extract makes more batter than will fill 1 8X8 pan. First time making this unique treat.....will definitely make again......thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! I made my sponge cake a little small by cutting out a circle. I made half s'mores and half vanilla. Big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Great recipe! This was my first attempt at Baked Alaska and it came out perfect. Now, I have made it with chocolate cake/vanilla ice cream and with chocolate cake/mint chocolate ice cream. I like how you can make it ahead, then pop it in the oven just minutes before serving. My dinner guests have been impressed! (Tip: Since this entire cake needs to be eaten immediately, tell a neighbor in advance when you will be running half of it over to them right out of the oven if you only have two or three for dinner at your house.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRGeep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I spooned raspberry sauce on the base before adding the ice cream and meringue. A tour de force to finish a meal. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very good. Way too much for us. Half it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this with a store bought cake and ice cream I only used one egg white I put in a little villian and I only put it under the boriler for 1 min. I was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Had fun with this one used three different ice creams. Lined the bowl with plastic wrap. added ice cream packed it down and sealed it with plastic wrap froze it for 8 hours each time. I change flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This dessert is fabulous & delicious, what a show stopper!! I made this 4th of July weekend, and it went over so very well. Only change I made was to use chocolate fudge cake mix, I omitted the almond extract, but used vanilla bean ice cream. The flavor combo is great, I will make this again using the white cake though. I used the 8x8 inch glass dish, the cake baked up high which was fine. I used a round bowl for the ice cream mold. This does require several steps and prep, but it is so very worth it, this is no fail if followed properly. Be sure to quickly spread the meringue, and definitley be sure it's "sealed" to the parchment paper. I never thought my first time making baked alaska would turn out so great! Thank you for this recipe, I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I made this yesterday for a dessert party and it was the STAR of the desserts. I used a cookie dough crust--a little over half of a large tube of chocolate chip cookie dough (saved me time, but you could make it from scratch). Baked for a while; about 16 minutes until firm but still slightly soft. For the inside, I filled my 8-inch bowl first with a tub of chocolate ice cream (everything is 1.5 pints now), pushing it up the sides so there was a bowl-shaped cavity for more ice cream. Inside of that, I put chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream, totaling 3 pints between the two. I frozen that AND the cookie dough crust for about 5 hours. For the meringue, I beat 9 egg whites with a heavy cup of sugar and 1/4 tsp cream of tartar. I was making Creme Brulee at the same time (from Creme Brulee recipe on this site), using 9 egg yolks (1 1/2 times the recipe), so I used all the leftover egg whites for this meringue. I made a lot of meringue, which allowed me enough to THOROUGHLY coat the outside of the ice cream and cookie dough. The meringue MUST cover everything--it acts as an insulator. This is VERY important, or the Alaska will not work. I froze that for 2 1/2 hours and then baked for 8 minutes. It could have used an extra 2, but it was lightly browned at 8. This was a spectacular and delicious dessert, plus it was something new and fun. I will make again--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States