Baked Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Another great recipe from Corwynn. A super side dish, too! On nights when I'm in a hurry I pierce the whole squash with a knife and microwave for 3 minutes. This makes it easier to halve and seed. Then I place it cut side down and microwave it for about 4 more minutes, then finish with the brown sugar and butter in the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this at Christmas with my ham and it was a huge hit! I did take advice from other reviewers to cut oven time (which was occupied with ham and rolls)and use the microwave. I put them in 1/2 cup water face down in microwavable dish for 8 minutes. They were already really tender. Then I baked in oven for only 20 min. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
Very yummy for something different! I think next time I'll use a little less butter as the squash didn't soak it all up and it ended up leaking out into the pan and burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
acorn squash is wonderful! for this recipe i simply baked the squash plain and then added a couple tablespoons of earth balance and agave nectar! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this last night and served it along with Roast Pork with Maple and Mustard Glaze (also from this site), which was an excellent combination. I followed the recipe with the exception of decreasing the brown sugar and omitting the cinnamon. Followed the baking times exactly which cooked them perfectly for us. I cut mine in wedges before serving. The hardest part of this recipe is cutting the squash in half. LOL! But here’s a little tip – microwave the whole squash for 2 minutes on high. That will soften it just enough and will make it a little easier to cut in half using a large chef's knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
mmmmm, this acorn squash dish is very tasty! made as directed except i basted the squash with the melted butter half way through the second baking stage. many thanks corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
The only way to eat any kind of winter squash! I do prefer to leave the cinnamon out though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was ummmm ummmm good! I used a little more brown sugar than the recipe called for to soak up the butter and it turned out just perfect. My whole family loved it, even my six year old!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
The quantity of butter is too large! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Good recipe for its simplicity and dependability. I did, however, change the seasoning, only because I don't care for sugar or cinnamon on my squash. I chose more savory seasoning; a little garlic butter and a sprinkle of paprika for rich color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States