Baked Acorn Squash with Apricot Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I really liked how this wasn't too sweet like the usual brown sugar recipes for squash. It had a lovely hint of flavor that made the squash come alive. Note, I only give 5 stars for the rare recipe that is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Pfeifle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made this for a fall BBQ, it was a HIT! I will be making it again for sure! I followed the recipe to a tee, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great idea. Glad to have another way to cook squash. I used sugar free preserves as we don't eat sugar and added a little brown sugar Splenda. I was worried about the topping being a little bland and sweet, so I blended a touch of cayenne pepper and salt with the preserves. A hit at our table. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Really loved it - and it was so easy! Will try again with butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
We realy prefer the brown sugar/butter kind of squash in this house. This was kind of odd tasting. Bummer too as I was hoping to find another way to prepare acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I make an even simpler version of this and any other acorn squash recipe. I never bake squash in the oven. Instead I microwave it. Follow your recipe for any squash dish, make sure the squash is halved and the seeds are removed. Then oven bake on high for approximately 12-15 minutes (depending on size and how soft you like your squash. Broil as directed for glazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The kids thought it tasted like peach pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Fantastic! I actually make 3 acorn squash today (6 halves). 2 I did with the traditional butter/brown sugar, 2 with this recipe and 2 with the Orange Baked Acorn Squash recipe (also from this site). All are delicious! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Nice option for a seasonal squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sberrystephcake

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My husband and I love this recipe. It is so very simple to make, and often we substitute butternut squash for the acorn type. We have it at least twice a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States