Baja Style Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Downsdea-eliminating the Ranch dressing and the pickled jalapenos in this recipe you will loose much of the flavors. the vinegar in the pickled jalapeno give the salsa that extra zing and of course ranch dressing has much more flavor than sour cream,lime and garlic salt. tcmjem-the reason for stacking the tortillas (I always use 2) the first can become soggy, or saturated with the juices and the second helps keep it together for less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the petite chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Thank you so much for this one! I love everything about it. The coleslaw mix with the Ranch dressing is so good and the chili garlic sauce added to the already perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by neonstar12668
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
My 13 year old just got thru making this. Turned out great! We did use fresh jalepeno and made a sour cream/sriracha sauce. We will play with it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I made this recipe but significantly simplified(see http://allrecipes.com/customrecipe/63702805/quick-and-easy-baja-style-fish-tacos/): I used frozen, beer battered fish fillets and premade pico de gallo. I also left out the ranch dressing (though I had some on hand in case it was needed). Those three changes slashed the ingredient list to a cardinality of five, which was within the realm of a weeknight dinner. But a fancy one! The flavors and textures worked great together and even my 3 year old ate some. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Awesome! I halved the salsa and used store bought beer battered chicken because it was on sale, quicker, and much less clean up. They were amazing! You gotta try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
these tacos are amazing, I fry them without the beer. other than that I follow the recipe to the letter. it's now almost a weekly request by my husband!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Mmm,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard Sadowsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe! I changed a few things. Used lettuce instead of coleslaw mix and fried the shells and cod in olive oil. I used McCormick's Beer Fish Batter with Budweiser and the fish turned out great. I used garlic powder and onion salt for the fresco and it turned out great. My husband likes them better than his tacos and he makes awesome chicken and beef tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I didn't try them yet, but had to comment after seeing them in the issue of allrecipes magazine. I loved your story! You say to stack 2 tortillas on a plate and actually show them that way above. Somehow in the magazine, they show two tortillas on a plate, but not stacked and each filled. Before I serve them, I was wondering does it make 12 or 24 filled tortillas? Sorry to rate the recipe before trying, but had to so the comment would post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Molling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I saw this recipe in the magazine and had to try it. I made it as written and it was delicious. I used Drakes coating with Dos Equis beer. I used my deep fryer with canola oil and fried at 375 degrees as suggested by the magazine editors. The fish was awesome. The salsa was very tasty and it made enough to use with other recipes. My 4 year old daughter ate the fish dipped in ranch and couldn't get enough! Because of the clean-up of the deep fryer, I probably will only make this once in awhile, but it was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Firehouse Fish Tacos

Watch a firehouse cook make a big batch of tasty fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States