Baja Style Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
We LOVE fish tacos - I would suggest instead of the ranch dressing for the cabbage to use sour cream, lime and a little garlic salt or if you can get it use Mexican Crema. I didn't have a box of batter mix so I used Fish Batter with New Castle (but I didn't use New Castle ale - instead I opted for Corona) The recipe is from this site. A squeeze of lime and a sprinkle of salt on the fish when it comes out of the fryer is a great touch. We used Tapatio hot sauce instead of Sriracha. Thanks for a nice lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe! I changed a few things. Used lettuce instead of coleslaw mix and fried the shells and cod in olive oil. I used McCormick's Beer Fish Batter with Budweiser and the fish turned out great. I used garlic powder and onion salt for the fresco and it turned out great. My husband likes them better than his tacos and he makes awesome chicken and beef tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
With all the different ingredients and colors it was surprisingly bland. I didn't follow the recipe exactly though. I used fresh Jalapeno instead of canned and added more lime juice and salt to make up for the missing liquid. I also didn't use ranch dressing and instead followed another reviewer's suggestion of sour cream+garlic salt+lime. Maybe I will add some mexican seasoning mix for leftovers. I can't think of much else to do to improve it unfortunately. It was a lot of work (more like 90min in my hands) for the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I didn't try them yet, but had to comment after seeing them in the issue of allrecipes magazine. I loved your story! You say to stack 2 tortillas on a plate and actually show them that way above. Somehow in the magazine, they show two tortillas on a plate, but not stacked and each filled. Before I serve them, I was wondering does it make 12 or 24 filled tortillas? Sorry to rate the recipe before trying, but had to so the comment would post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Downsdea-eliminating the Ranch dressing and the pickled jalapenos in this recipe you will loose much of the flavors. the vinegar in the pickled jalapeno give the salsa that extra zing and of course ranch dressing has much more flavor than sour cream,lime and garlic salt. tcmjem-the reason for stacking the tortillas (I always use 2) the first can become soggy, or saturated with the juices and the second helps keep it together for less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the petite chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I saw this in the magazine and had to try it. The family loves it! I followed the suggestions in the magazine and halved the salsa ingredients and used more ranch dressing for the coleslaw. I think I will try green onions next time because I don't like the taste of raw onions. I used catfish fillet because it was cheaper (tastes great!) and used water to make the batter instead of beer since we don't drink. The Sriracha is a MUST for flavor. Finally, I will try flour tortillas next time because the corn are just too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I saw this recipe in the magazine and had to try it. I made it as written and it was delicious. I used Drakes coating with Dos Equis beer. I used my deep fryer with canola oil and fried at 375 degrees as suggested by the magazine editors. The fish was awesome. The salsa was very tasty and it made enough to use with other recipes. My 4 year old daughter ate the fish dipped in ranch and couldn't get enough! Because of the clean-up of the deep fryer, I probably will only make this once in awhile, but it was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I made this recipe but significantly simplified(see http://allrecipes.com/customrecipe/63702805/quick-and-easy-baja-style-fish-tacos/): I used frozen, beer battered fish fillets and premade pico de gallo. I also left out the ranch dressing (though I had some on hand in case it was needed). Those three changes slashed the ingredient list to a cardinality of five, which was within the realm of a weeknight dinner. But a fancy one! The flavors and textures worked great together and even my 3 year old ate some. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I was really excited to try this after reading it in the AR magazine. I was disappointed there wasn't more flavor. The coleslaw didn't add any flavor, and the tomato salsa was good, but all I could taste was jalapeno. Ill try it again, and make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisNCy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
YUM! I am a sucker for all things Mexican and this didn't let me down! Although not my favorite (I prefer BREESE's fish tacos a tad better), these were mighty tasty nonetheless. I especially enjoyed the Ranch slaw and homemade pico! My husband couldn't find Shore Lunch brand batter, so he picked up Drake's brand (which worked just fine). HINT: You'll need to fry your fish in batches. To keep already fried fish warm, stick it in a 200 degree F oven. It will retain its heat and be just as crisp at is was out of the deep fryer! Mexican rice, tortilla chips, guacamole and sangria rounded out our festive meal. Thank you Allrecipes for featuring this gem in Allrecipes magazine! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Firehouse Fish Tacos

Watch a firehouse cook make a big batch of tasty fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States