Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Excellent! I added mushrooms and substituted pressed garlic and minced ginger (in equal proportions) for the ginger garlic paste. My boyfriend who spent quite a bit of time in India loved it and told me it was the most authentic dish I had made yet. I will be making this again both as a vegetarian and meat based dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Excellent! My first attempt at a curry dish and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I just tried out this recipe and it was pretty tasty. I modified it a bit because I forgot to print out the recipe. I chopped the eggplant in small pieces and simmered them in chopped onions, garlic, olive oil, chopped tomatoes, cumin, coriander and ginger. Then I more or less pureed it with a hand blender and then added the plain yogurt. I then served it over steamed vegetables and brown rice. Your recipe came out great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAMINGOFLUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very nice. I cut the oil back to 1 Tbsp, and next time I'll do the same---but use a non-stick pan. I didn't have jalapenos or cilantro---turned out fantastic nonetheless. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to use minced garlic and fresh ginger in place of the ginger/garlic paste. Very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Excellent! I made it this weekend, only I used curry paste and minced 4 gloves of fresh garlic. It's very easy to make and it makes the best left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
good recipe! I used minced garlic and fresh ginger instead of the paste. I added mushrooms and a can of lentils. I also substituted milk for yogurt and it was fine. Served over brown rice, it was delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
It's not Shalimar, but YUM! I omitted the yogurt and added a touch of milk to keep it from burning. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This was delicious. Try piercing the eggplant w/ a fork before baking to prevent it from exploding. Also, I added very thinly sliced chicken and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This recipe is fantastic - it just just like what you'd find at a nice Indian restaurant. I only altered it slightly: I used 2 medium sized eggplants and used 1.5 times the spices called for. I also used milk and water instead of yogurt. Be aware that you will need to add a bit of water at the end to keep it from drying out. This was enough to feed four people as a side dish and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Fantastic! I made some adjustments because of ingredients on hand. I substituted 2 tsp ginger and 2 cloves of garlic for the ginger garlic paste, and I can of diced tomatos instead of fresh tomato. Also, substituted 1/2 cup of fat-free half and half for the yogurt. Delicious over basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States