Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
The recipe is almost authentic - i say almost because Indians use garam masala and not curry powder. I don't add yogurt to my baingan bharta, but adding it isn't a sin, i wouldn't heat the dish after adding yogurt. Also, the eggplant is usually fire roasted and the smokey flavor is just outstanding. Also a small teaspoon of lemon juice in the end brings all the flavors out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
great recipe. I am second generation Indian and this is one of my favorite dishes. I made the eggplant the day before just to save time; I cut it in half lengthwise, sprayed the cut side with Pam, and then baked it on a foil lined cookie sheet, cut side down. I baked it for 20 minutes or so and it was so tender that I just scraped it out of the skin with a spoon. I used a can of plum tomatoes instead of a tomato, and cut the tomatoes into a small dice. I saved the liquid and added it to the dish right before I started to simmer it. I also added about a cup of frozen baby peas at the same time as the eggplant. Used ginger paste and minced garlic. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This recipe is terrific- I'd give it 6 stars if I could! This is my new favorite way to use eggplant- I love the combination of veggies. I made it as a side with chicken curry and spinach paneer (frozen entree)and rice- the eggplant stole the show! I used a medium eggplant- didn't bother peeling, just scooped out the cooked inards and chopped them up with a spoon. I added 3/4 jalapeno in with the onion, thinking otherwise it would be too spicy, but it was not. Thought yogurt might separate when cooked so aggressively, but it did not! I didn't have ginger-garlic paste, just added a little fresh of each. Easy and healthy! Serve to all of your vegetarian friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is a recipe that made a great authentic (so it seemed to me) dish! I used 1/2 tbsp. minced ginger and 1/2 tbsp. minced garlic instead of garlic paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Easy recipe. The eggplant was very mushy after being baked for 20 minutes. The actual dish was very tasty. I added the yogurt to the curry after it was cooked and slightly cooled. I would make it again only I would do it with two eggplants to add more "meat" to the final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Not having much experience with cooking Indian food I was wary of trying this recipe but it turned out GREAT. My husband and I loved it. The only thing I couldn't find was garlic ginger paste, so i made my own in the food processor (just blended together 1 tbs garlic and same amount ginger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I just tried out this recipe and it was pretty tasty. I modified it a bit because I forgot to print out the recipe. I chopped the eggplant in small pieces and simmered them in chopped onions, garlic, olive oil, chopped tomatoes, cumin, coriander and ginger. Then I more or less pureed it with a hand blender and then added the plain yogurt. I then served it over steamed vegetables and brown rice. Your recipe came out great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAMINGOFLUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Very yummy - probably not something most kids will like, as it's spicy and has that yogurt tang. Made it for a party and it was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Very Good! Next time I will bake the eggplant a liitle longer or slice it in half first. I would have liked it to cook up so much you can't really distinguish the pieces. In our area you can get canned diced tomatoes with jalapenos so I drained about half a can and used this as a short cut. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very nice. I cut the oil back to 1 Tbsp, and next time I'll do the same---but use a non-stick pan. I didn't have jalapenos or cilantro---turned out fantastic nonetheless. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to use minced garlic and fresh ginger in place of the ginger/garlic paste. Very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States