Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
The recipe is almost authentic - i say almost because Indians use garam masala and not curry powder. I don't add yogurt to my baingan bharta, but adding it isn't a sin, i wouldn't heat the dish after adding yogurt. Also, the eggplant is usually fire roasted and the smokey flavor is just outstanding. Also a small teaspoon of lemon juice in the end brings all the flavors out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
great recipe. I am second generation Indian and this is one of my favorite dishes. I made the eggplant the day before just to save time; I cut it in half lengthwise, sprayed the cut side with Pam, and then baked it on a foil lined cookie sheet, cut side down. I baked it for 20 minutes or so and it was so tender that I just scraped it out of the skin with a spoon. I used a can of plum tomatoes instead of a tomato, and cut the tomatoes into a small dice. I saved the liquid and added it to the dish right before I started to simmer it. I also added about a cup of frozen baby peas at the same time as the eggplant. Used ginger paste and minced garlic. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This recipe is terrific- I'd give it 6 stars if I could! This is my new favorite way to use eggplant- I love the combination of veggies. I made it as a side with chicken curry and spinach paneer (frozen entree)and rice- the eggplant stole the show! I used a medium eggplant- didn't bother peeling, just scooped out the cooked inards and chopped them up with a spoon. I added 3/4 jalapeno in with the onion, thinking otherwise it would be too spicy, but it was not. Thought yogurt might separate when cooked so aggressively, but it did not! I didn't have ginger-garlic paste, just added a little fresh of each. Easy and healthy! Serve to all of your vegetarian friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is a recipe that made a great authentic (so it seemed to me) dish! I used 1/2 tbsp. minced ginger and 1/2 tbsp. minced garlic instead of garlic paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Easy recipe. The eggplant was very mushy after being baked for 20 minutes. The actual dish was very tasty. I added the yogurt to the curry after it was cooked and slightly cooled. I would make it again only I would do it with two eggplants to add more "meat" to the final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Not having much experience with cooking Indian food I was wary of trying this recipe but it turned out GREAT. My husband and I loved it. The only thing I couldn't find was garlic ginger paste, so i made my own in the food processor (just blended together 1 tbs garlic and same amount ginger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I just tried out this recipe and it was pretty tasty. I modified it a bit because I forgot to print out the recipe. I chopped the eggplant in small pieces and simmered them in chopped onions, garlic, olive oil, chopped tomatoes, cumin, coriander and ginger. Then I more or less pureed it with a hand blender and then added the plain yogurt. I then served it over steamed vegetables and brown rice. Your recipe came out great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAMINGOFLUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Very yummy - probably not something most kids will like, as it's spicy and has that yogurt tang. Made it for a party and it was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Very Good! Next time I will bake the eggplant a liitle longer or slice it in half first. I would have liked it to cook up so much you can't really distinguish the pieces. In our area you can get canned diced tomatoes with jalapenos so I drained about half a can and used this as a short cut. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very nice. I cut the oil back to 1 Tbsp, and next time I'll do the same---but use a non-stick pan. I didn't have jalapenos or cilantro---turned out fantastic nonetheless. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to use minced garlic and fresh ginger in place of the ginger/garlic paste. Very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States