Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe for a traditional Indian dish, but you can also get great results with fewer ingredients. My roots are from Fiji; we don't always put masala (curry powder) in veggie dishes. I often omit cumin seeds, ginger, masala and yogurt. Follow the procedure as described, but sprinkle a little lemon juice and ground cumin at the end. Sometimes I cook it down to a smooth consistency and use it as a dip like baba ghanoush (sp?). This is the only way to get my DH to eat eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I liked this very much, but would change a few things when I make it again. It was fairly mushy, probably because my eggplant wasn't big enough. In the future, I will stir fry the eggplant, remove, and then follow the recipe. In the picture, it appears that the skin of the eggplant was left, altho' the recipe calls for removing it. Skin stays on next time I make it (I like eggplant that way). And I like the suggestion about garam masala. Maybe both. Really a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Amazing flavor and so easy. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Love Love Love this! I made some slight changes which I think brought this recipe to the next level. First, I peeled, sliced and salted the eggplant and let it sit on some paper towels for about an hour to get some of the moisture out. I then sauteed the eggplant in some olive oil for about 5 minutes and set aside. Next I got going with steps 3 & 4. I upped the spices by a lot, I never measure spices so I'm not really sure by how much, but at least triple. I used a full 28 oz can of whole peeled tomatoes (I cut the tomatoes up first). Next I added the eggplant back in along with some Seitan I had sitting in the fridge that I needed to use up. Let is cook for probably 20-25 minutes. Served over rice. My hubby said it was one of the best meals I have ever cooked. Can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I make this all the time and you just can't stop eating it. I cut the eggplant in long strips when cooking. Serve this with rice or naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I messed up this recipe cuz I didn't have ginger garlic paste. However, I loved the way it tasted without it, so next time I will have the ginger garlic paste and I have the feeling I will like it even better! Served it to myself over rice (boyfriend doesn't like curry--too bad for him!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The dish was delicious, no doubt, but there are some problems: 1 eggplant adds almost nothing at all - certainly not enough for 4-6 servings. I had to use 3 eggplants and even though I only doubled (not tripled) the rest of the ingredients, the spice and taste of garlic and ginger overwhelmed the meal. However, the end product still shows enough promise to try some alterations next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
please dont call this a bharta..its anything but bharta.. a good normal curry though i enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A bit more time than estimated was expended in the preparation (more like 1.75 hrs). Also, not as tasty/spicy as other versions I have tasted in the past. But nice recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States