Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Delicious! I ran out of ginger and resorted to ginger powder, but it was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Great. I kept the skin on for added nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very good. I used garam masala because that's what I had. I also ended up adding about 2 T of butter and 1/2c of milk to the recipe because it was missing something...but that made it delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was quite good! I too, used grated ginger and garlic since I didn't want to work too hard trying to find the paste. I put in Greek yogurt, and...don't hate me..a teensy bit of worcestershire sauce..Parsley because forgot to buy cilantro. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I too just used minced fresh ginger and fresh garlic. I also used greek yogurt because it was all I had--and it still turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love this recipe. However, to make it more like what I order at the restaurant, I add more oil, and puree it with a hand mixer. I also never have cumin seeds, but regular cumin works just fine, as does pressed garlic and chopped ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I have made this several times now, most recently using an overgrown zucchini instead of eggplant. Great flavor! I too use ginger and garlic separately since I don't have the paste, and I usually add some garam masala. Put the yogurt in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I'm Indian and have never liked bhaigan until I tried this recipe! The use of curry powder and yogurt, although not traditional ingredients for this dish, really brings out the taste of the eggplant. This has become my go to eggplant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I only had half a egg plant but i still made it somewhat like the recipe. Only difference is, I used 1/3 cup of yogurt. I also squeezed half a lemon and added some black pepper. It turned out excellent!. Was finished in one sitting:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I love this recipe and it's one of my meat loving husband's favourites! I do make quite a few modifications, as we like lots of flavour! I usually use 2 eggplants (diced then roasted in olive oil and salt) plus what ever other vege i have handy like cauliflower, beans or potato (also roasted). I double cumin, ginger, garlic and curry powder, use a tin of tomatoes instead of fresh, and add the yogurt as a side on the plate rather than cook it. All these changes probably make it far from authentic, but after making this dish regularly this is how we like it best. Thanks for sharing Yakuta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States