Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I'm Indian and have never liked bhaigan until I tried this recipe! The use of curry powder and yogurt, although not traditional ingredients for this dish, really brings out the taste of the eggplant. This has become my go to eggplant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I only had half a egg plant but i still made it somewhat like the recipe. Only difference is, I used 1/3 cup of yogurt. I also squeezed half a lemon and added some black pepper. It turned out excellent!. Was finished in one sitting:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I love this recipe and it's one of my meat loving husband's favourites! I do make quite a few modifications, as we like lots of flavour! I usually use 2 eggplants (diced then roasted in olive oil and salt) plus what ever other vege i have handy like cauliflower, beans or potato (also roasted). I double cumin, ginger, garlic and curry powder, use a tin of tomatoes instead of fresh, and add the yogurt as a side on the plate rather than cook it. All these changes probably make it far from authentic, but after making this dish regularly this is how we like it best. Thanks for sharing Yakuta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Came out a little yogurt-y and blander than I'd hoped. Next time I'll use less yogurt, more jalapeno, and try using japanese eggplants (smaller and sweeter) than the large kind. Still pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very bland, not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very nice. Used garam masala, which did feel like a better fit. Didn't use lemon juice at the end, which in retrospect would probably have made even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Next time I will make it just a little bit spicier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffnben

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Excellent with some turmeric and mustard seeds fried up w/ the ginger/garlic. Added some zucchini and squash to bulk it up. Did a simmer/fry version rather than bake, smelled incredible, tasted the same. Served over green lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesDeLaSea
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This dish confirms my love for eggplant. I used 1/2 T minced ginger and 1/2 T minced garlic in place of the paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I tripled this recipe so it will be enough for 12 servings. My friends really liked it and thinks it is really authentic! I left out the tomato since one of my friends don't eat tomatoes. It still tastes really good without the tomato. Get some naan from the store! It tastes really delicious with naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States