Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very good. I cut down on the jalapeno and curry because I was worried that it would be too spicy but I wish the end product would have been spicier. Next time will make as written and maybe even add some spice. Hubby liked it even though there was no meat. I used fresh ginger and garlic in place of the paste and less oil, probably closer to 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Wonderful and easy recipe. I used garam masala per another reviewers recommendation and the flavor of the dish was great. One concern for next time, I baked the eggplant as directed for 25 minutes and it burst in the oven and the meat of the eggplant was very soft (almost mushy). I will cut down on the time next attempt, or find a firmer eggplant at the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made it with the yogurt (for me) and without (for my vegan bf). I have to say, I like it better without the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This a fabulous dish. Very easy to make and a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a very good version of this dish. If you like bharta, I think you'll really like it. Good testure, good flavors. I did substitute 1/2 tbsp grated ginger and 1/2 tbsp minced garlic for the garlic/ginger paste. I did not use the garam masala substitution. This recipe may be a 5, but since my personal preferences rated it a 3 (I would rather have mushroom curry), I couldn't give it the 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This absolutely wonderful, I made this and ate the whole thing, LOL Next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosalieC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
this is an amazing recipe!!! I am eating it right now :).. I took one star off for a few reasons. I think there should be 2 eggplant in this. Also, I think coconut milk is more traditional than yogurt, so that's what I used. Like other reviewers, my pan burnt on the bottom during the 10 minutes of high heat. I will definitely be making this again!! I used a 14oz can of tomatoes, but next time would double it :) yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dmphax
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
WOW! First off, thank you for the recipe. Secondly, thank you to all who have made this recipe before for your tips and suggestions! I made a half batch of this recipe. Baked the eggplant for 26 minutes, came easily from the peel with a spoon. I used Olive Oil and I also did the fresh ginger/garlic minced up together (instead of the paste). I stuck to the rest of the recipe as 'laid out'. My only 'complaint' is the 10 minutes at high heat. I was using my large burner with a stainless steel pot. I had the heat at 8 (of 10), and wondered if that was high enough. Well, the mix burned to the bottom of the pot! I lowered to 7 for the remainder of cook time. Even with that 1 'glitch', the end result was fabulous!! I did the yogurt in the mix per the original instruction, and it turned out great! I have leftovers for tomorrow... which I was tempted to eat tonight after 1 serving vanished from my plate. Will make again, thank you so, so much again for this recipe!! Delicious and fulfilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I really like Baingan Bharta. This is a great dish with just the right kind of spice. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS! I added a lot of different veggies along with what the recipe called for. I also added about a tablespoon of garam masala. YUM YUM YUM! Served with garlic naan. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States