Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Delicious! Very picky husband approved. Added baked chicken cooked separately on top, but next time may try cubing & cooking in with dish. Couldn't find Ginger Garlic Paste, so I mixed finely grated equal parts fresh ginger & minced garlic with enough olive oil to make a paste. Be very careful with covering & cooking for 10 minutes. Bottom of my pan burned and was a MAJOR clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
eggplant needs to cook for at least an hour in the oven to get the right texture for bharata! The initial sauce also need to be cooked a little longer before adding yogurt and eggplant. that is how it is made in India.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Delicious and easy! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I left the peel on the eggplant, and unless the "bunch" of cilantro is a lot smaller than the bunches I buy, I used a lot less cilantro. The eggplant I used weighed 27 ounces before cooking it, and it produced 4 moderately sized portions. Tasted great, but quite spicy and our bellies were burning a while after eating this, so if spices might bother you, reduce the spice:eggplant ratio. The size of the tomato was also non-specific, so could affect the outcome. Measurements in ounces or cups, for any ingredient, in any recipe, are specific and are more helpful than non-specific amounts like "bunch" or "large".... just something for members to consider when submitting recipes. Update: Made this again when I was in a hurry so instead of roasting the eggplant, I cut it into 1" cubes and put them under the broiler at the same time I was sautéing the onions/cumin seeds. This saved 30 minutes of cooking time and was actually an improvement. The eggplant was slightly charred (on purpose) and not as slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
The quality of the eggplant plays a huge part in whether this recipe is a hit or a dismal miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Tried this recipe this evening, it was delicious. I stepped out of my comfort zone for this one. I didn't have Jalapeno so used spicy curry seasoning and some red pepper flakes, grated my own garlic and ginger for the paste and used coconut and palm oil for the sauteing. I also threw in some extra Tumeric just to up the health benefits. I have to cook for my elderly mom so mostly have to stay away from spicy dishes but I made this for myself and cooked some red quinoa to eat with it instead of rice, it was really good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I made this as a side dish to an Indian food themed birthday dinner. I did like it, and will probably make it again for a similar such special occasion, but I don't think it will become a regular in our house. I took the advice of a couple of other reviewers and I upped the amount of eggplant - I think this is really necessary. I used three medium sized eggplants instead of one large. The other change I made was to combine yogurt and cream (I used about a 50-50 ratio) to prevent the recipe from being too tangy. I thought it was an ideal amount of tanginess this way, although probably healthier not to do this :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I don't think I used the correct curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I used 2 14 oz cans diced tomatoes and 2 large eggplant, several dashes Chipotle tabasco sauce (didn't have any jalapenos). Steamed eggplant in microwave till soft. Instead of yogurt, used 1/4 cup lactaid whole milk. Just cooked several garlic cloves in microwave for 1 min and used ginger, curry, cardamon, and cumin powder. Came out kinda bland. As some people commented, tasted like something was missing. All the spices were there, but realized it needed to cook longer. Let it simmer overnight and it tasted better, still kinda tart from tomatoes. Added 1 tlb splenda and 1 tsp salt, much better, but still eggplant was a little bland. Next time: I'll cook it all together without cooking eggplant first and see if it tastes richer. Will re-submit upon next trial and let you know how it went. I just signed up here and was trying to add a photo of myself and it said something like it had to be 900x900 megapixels on 1 side. Does anyone know what that means? Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
It just needed a teaspoon or so of sugar and a little bit of lemon juice to make it "taste right" by my standards. I did change a few things as well- fresh ginger & garlic, substituted green curry paste for the chili pepper (about a tbsp), I used kefir instead of yogurt (what I had), more salt than was recommended, fresh dill instead of cilantro (again what I had), 1 tsp of sugar and half a squeezed lemon, everything else I followed. It was better than it is at my favorite Indian restaurant. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This has become one of my favorite dishes of all time. I highly recommend it! We did omit the chiles, and instead of ginger paste, we use ginger spice and garlic from a jar. It tastes so good. I also like to make this with Japanese eggplant because they are less bitter and produce fewer stomach issues than regular eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States