Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SakiFiz
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I like this recipe. I've tweaked it a bit over the few times I've done it. 1) Bake the eggplant longer until really close to mush. 2) Up the amounts of tomatoes. 3) Up the amount of cumin and add garam masala in addition to curry powder. 4) Wait until done cooking to stir in the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
After having this at a local restaurant I was determined to make it at home. This recipe was easy and the dish was very flavorful served over basmati rice. As others have noted, one eggplant isn't sufficient. I also recommend using garam masala instead of curry. Charring the eggplant on a gas burner for 10 minutes before putting it in the oven lent a smokey flavor to the eggplant. I also cracked the cumin seeds and toasted them in the pan before adding the onion. I like it just with eggplant; I subsequently made it with some diced chicken and that was also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Awesome!!!!! I used garam Marsala in place of curry as suggested by another rater. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Delicious and authentic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
At first I was concerned when this looked like a gelatinous mush of TWO roasted aubergine, -- I roasted them whole at 425 for 25 minutes, turned off heat and let them rest in hot oven for another 10-15, the meat peeled away nicely -- but after the high cooking, it reduced perfectly (my pan burned slightly but that added to the flavor). Made my own ginger garlic paste and also added just a touch of rice vinegar; and only had a small poblano pepper versus a jalapeno. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Delicious! Very picky husband approved. Added baked chicken cooked separately on top, but next time may try cubing & cooking in with dish. Couldn't find Ginger Garlic Paste, so I mixed finely grated equal parts fresh ginger & minced garlic with enough olive oil to make a paste. Be very careful with covering & cooking for 10 minutes. Bottom of my pan burned and was a MAJOR clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
eggplant needs to cook for at least an hour in the oven to get the right texture for bharata! The initial sauce also need to be cooked a little longer before adding yogurt and eggplant. that is how it is made in India.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Delicious and easy! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I left the peel on the eggplant, and unless the "bunch" of cilantro is a lot smaller than the bunches I buy, I used a lot less cilantro. The eggplant I used weighed 27 ounces before cooking it, and it produced 4 moderately sized portions. Tasted great, but quite spicy and our bellies were burning a while after eating this, so if spices might bother you, reduce the spice:eggplant ratio. The size of the tomato was also non-specific, so could affect the outcome. Measurements in ounces or cups, for any ingredient, in any recipe, are specific and are more helpful than non-specific amounts like "bunch" or "large".... just something for members to consider when submitting recipes. Update: Made this again when I was in a hurry so instead of roasting the eggplant, I cut it into 1" cubes and put them under the broiler at the same time I was sautéing the onions/cumin seeds. This saved 30 minutes of cooking time and was actually an improvement. The eggplant was slightly charred (on purpose) and not as slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
The quality of the eggplant plays a huge part in whether this recipe is a hit or a dismal miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States