Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I messed up this recipe cuz I didn't have ginger garlic paste. However, I loved the way it tasted without it, so next time I will have the ginger garlic paste and I have the feeling I will like it even better! Served it to myself over rice (boyfriend doesn't like curry--too bad for him!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The dish was delicious, no doubt, but there are some problems: 1 eggplant adds almost nothing at all - certainly not enough for 4-6 servings. I had to use 3 eggplants and even though I only doubled (not tripled) the rest of the ingredients, the spice and taste of garlic and ginger overwhelmed the meal. However, the end product still shows enough promise to try some alterations next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
please dont call this a bharta..its anything but bharta.. a good normal curry though i enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A bit more time than estimated was expended in the preparation (more like 1.75 hrs). Also, not as tasty/spicy as other versions I have tasted in the past. But nice recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Easy, delicous, healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This dish tastes very authentic, cooks perfectly when you follow the directions and is great served with brown jasmin rice. Very good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have just started with experimenting with Indian cooking, and this is a great dish for a beginner like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was amazing! There used to be a restaurant in Westwood that I would trek up to for this dish, but alas, they closed down thanks to this bum economy.. =( This recipe saved the day though! I made a couple changes after the dry run after following some other reviews. I bake the eggplant until it's tender, and just scrape it out of the skin with a spoon. Also, I add petite frozen peas at the same time as the eggplant because that's the way it was made at the restaurant I used to go to. As for the curry powder, I used garam masala instead, which is an Indian spice blend that really makes it authentic. And if you find the flavors are too strong, mix in some yogurt after you're done cooking or let it stand overnight. (Mine was much more mild the next day, but tasted more cohesive - if that makes any sense to anyone other than me...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookiePie214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good. It was my first stab at Indian food and I have a little obsession with eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Roy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Good base recipe. I baked my eggplant as stated, used a can of tomatoes, and used two jalepenos and one small red pepper and one can of chickpeas. I omitted the yogurt and cilantro because I didn't have any. (Next time I'll definitely add the cilantro.) Made a tasty substantial dish with the right amount of heat. Brought to a potluck and served it over white rice. Received good reviews. Will make again using what curry appropriate veggies are on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Perth Amboy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States