Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I only baked the eggplant for about 15 minutes. Since it really didn't want to peel very easily I just left the peel on. The eggplant shrinks quite a bit so I used 2 medium eggplants for this. Used equal parts minced fresh garlic and ginger for ginger garlic paste. Served this with Chicken Makhani from this site. Great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Harden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I thought the cumin seeds were quite overpowering.. Followed the recipe exactly, except for using stewed tomatoes instead of fresh. I didn't care for the taste (and I usually love curry,) Just seemed a little plain to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBRASILE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
my wife makes the best bargain Bharat hands down. we always fire roast on the stove to the point where all sides are charred. then let it sit for 15 mins so it cools down. the chop it up and cook with red onions cilantro and cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Deneé Jennings
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I moved out to a town with no good restaurants, so if you are craving indian food, this will totally hit the spot! I did use garam masala in place of the curry powder and I also used ginger powder and garlic powder (also 3 cloves of real garlic) in place of the paste. I also did not add the yogurt, not saying it would make it bad, my personal preference is without it though. I also forgot to cook naan or rice so I just toasted some toast real quick and it with lovely together. Anyways, I recommend trying it! Anything eggplant is good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Turned out great. Reminded me of a dish I had one of my favorite restaurants in the Bay Area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Tried this recipe last night and it was great. I used one tbsp oil, two small eggplants in place of one large one, two tomatoes, and used 1/2 tbsp fresh ginger and 1/2 tbsp fresh garlic as did not have the ginger paste. Instead of salt, I added a veggie bouillon cube, and a little water when it tried to get too dry. I also reduced the heat to medium as so many reviewers said it stuck when they tried to cook it on high. The only other thing I would change on this one is to try using 1/2 jalapeno next time. It was just a little hot for us but we will definitely be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Wonderful!the eggplant didn't seem like enough so I added some fresh cauliflower before putting in the oven,also some celery because I needed to use it up. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saralyn Kerrigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Moglen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Surprised at the delightful depth of flavor. We added diced tofu for protein avoiding the carbohydrate rich rice or naan as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I've made this a few times now, and it's popular with friends and family. My modifications: [*] Instead of 1 tbsp. curry powder, I use 1/2 curry powder and 1/2 garam masala. [*] I add the yogurt at the end, after the dish cools a bit. [*] I stir frequently throughout (even during the "covered" cooking phase), to keep the dish from burning. Cook on medium heat, not high. [*] I add 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruien

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States