Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by dmphax
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
WOW! First off, thank you for the recipe. Secondly, thank you to all who have made this recipe before for your tips and suggestions! I made a half batch of this recipe. Baked the eggplant for 26 minutes, came easily from the peel with a spoon. I used Olive Oil and I also did the fresh ginger/garlic minced up together (instead of the paste). I stuck to the rest of the recipe as 'laid out'. My only 'complaint' is the 10 minutes at high heat. I was using my large burner with a stainless steel pot. I had the heat at 8 (of 10), and wondered if that was high enough. Well, the mix burned to the bottom of the pot! I lowered to 7 for the remainder of cook time. Even with that 1 'glitch', the end result was fabulous!! I did the yogurt in the mix per the original instruction, and it turned out great! I have leftovers for tomorrow... which I was tempted to eat tonight after 1 serving vanished from my plate. Will make again, thank you so, so much again for this recipe!! Delicious and fulfilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I really like Baingan Bharta. This is a great dish with just the right kind of spice. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS! I added a lot of different veggies along with what the recipe called for. I also added about a tablespoon of garam masala. YUM YUM YUM! Served with garlic naan. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
THIS IS SO YUMMY!! I didn't know I could make food like this. I am hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
It was okay. Was a bit disappointed that it wasn't as flavorful as I thought it was going to be based on the reviews. It needed to create some sort of sauce to help complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Not bad. Will cook it again some time but I don't think it will blow away my Indian in-laws who are used to the real stuff. I used garam masala instead of curry powder and added some coconut and brown sugar as our tomatos are pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I felt like this had a bit of a strange consistency. The flavor was very good. I used Greek yogurt, but maybe a yogurt with a more liquidy consistency would have worked better. We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Ann
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was really delicious. My family just recently started eating more meatless meals, and this was very filling! Enjoyed by the whole family, even my 1 and 3 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Nice dish. Roasted Eggplant on grill. Used minced ginger, minced garlic instead of paste. (?) Used Garam Masala instead of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was fantastic. I used it as a topping for Indian pizza: naan + mozz + eggplant curry on top. Scrumptious! I used grated ginger and minced garlic instead of the paste. With Penzeys hot curry powder & the jalapeno it was nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States