Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
this was delicious! went well with a baked ham with mango chutney, some fried potatoes w/cumin seeds and some papadum. will make again. thanks for the post Yakuta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is the dish I always order at Indian restaurants and I honestly didn't think this was going to compare. But it did. I followed all the directions, but substituted garam masala spice (there's a recipe on this site) for the curry and added Cardamom seed, which I often taste in restaurant dishes. It was out of this world! Will be making repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I wouldn't make this again. I used non-fat yogurt, which kind of clumped up and while it tasted ok, it certainly didn't look very appetizing. For my taste it could have also been spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I threw 4 cloves of garlic and an inch of diced ginger in a food processor to make garlic ginger paste. The only other change I made was to add the yogurt when it was finished cooking and remove from heat. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very good. I cut down on the jalapeno and curry because I was worried that it would be too spicy but I wish the end product would have been spicier. Next time will make as written and maybe even add some spice. Hubby liked it even though there was no meat. I used fresh ginger and garlic in place of the paste and less oil, probably closer to 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Wonderful and easy recipe. I used garam masala per another reviewers recommendation and the flavor of the dish was great. One concern for next time, I baked the eggplant as directed for 25 minutes and it burst in the oven and the meat of the eggplant was very soft (almost mushy). I will cut down on the time next attempt, or find a firmer eggplant at the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made it with the yogurt (for me) and without (for my vegan bf). I have to say, I like it better without the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This a fabulous dish. Very easy to make and a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a very good version of this dish. If you like bharta, I think you'll really like it. Good testure, good flavors. I did substitute 1/2 tbsp grated ginger and 1/2 tbsp minced garlic for the garlic/ginger paste. I did not use the garam masala substitution. This recipe may be a 5, but since my personal preferences rated it a 3 (I would rather have mushroom curry), I couldn't give it the 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This absolutely wonderful, I made this and ate the whole thing, LOL Next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosalieC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States