Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is wonderful. I was looking for a main dish alternative to baba ganooj, and this is so much better. Very forgiving recipe: I forgot the garlic-ginger business and served yogurt on the side. I am going back for seconds now, and not waiting for my family to come home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was good! I did not give it five stars because I found it slightly bland. Next time I'll add more salt and hot pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmw2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Fool-proof and one of the most delicious curries I've had in ages. Served with Raita, Mango chutney and Naan. SOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Pretty good but could have had a fuller flavor - maybe because I used curry powder that had been sitting in the cupboard for a long time? I will try again with fresher curry powder or garam masala as other reviewers have suggested. Also I stupidly forgot to poke holes in the eggplant before sticking it in the oven and it exploded! hee hee, rookie mistake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This recipe changes its flavor over the days and turns from decent to great! I added half a pound of ground Turkey and used Turmeric Powder instead of Garam Masala. When I cooked it me and my roommates gave it 4 stars, because the spices had not gone through the eggplant and it didn't taste that exciting. Than I had leftovers after 2 days and it was amazing! All the spices and flavors hat blended together and it was fantastic! Knowing this I will definitely make it again, since it's a dish that you can easily prepare ahead and by the time you eat it, it's a delight! Also, I found that the turkey gave it a rounder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I omitted the ginger because my husband does not like ginger and added only minced garlic. It was still very good a flavorful. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Followed recipe to the letter and the whole family loved it! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I really liked the flavor of this dish. I removed the skin and pureed the eggplant in the blender with a tiny bit of water after baking. I also had some Indian spices on hand so I doubled the curry powder (2T) and added 1t garam masala, 1t tumeric, and about 1/4t cayenne pepper. I also had a tiny bit of shredded chicken in the freezer so I put that in too. I cooked the jalapeno with the onion at the beginning and put in the yogurt at the very end. I didn't have any problem with it burning, but I also didn't cook it on very high heat as directed. I added about three small tomatoes and they helped to hydrate the dish. The result was great, though I might leave out the chicken next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was great. Cooked eggplant for 20 minutes. Did not peel. Scored it like a mango and push the flesh out...then cut the chunks off like you would a mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. DeCanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Loved it, I peeled the eggplant and cubed it before baking to shave off some time but over all easy recipe and turned out really good. I eyed the spices vs. measured thought because I didnt feel like it was going to be spicy enough but it was very spicy :) I think next time I will measure and adjust based on our desire for hotness as a prefect this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kavalentine26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States