Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very nice! Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The curious cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Delicious. I used fresh ginger since I didn't have the paste called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I'm not Indian, so I can't attest to authenticity, but it was delicious. However, as a time-saver, I baked the eggplant already cut into cubes, and left skin on. It was just as good, and much much less time and labor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was good enough, but not great. It had far more onion than eggplant, and came out dry instead of saucy. If I was going to make it again, I would increase the eggplant, and leave the eggplant peel on. I would also reduce the time on high heat at the end, maybe adding some liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I just made this, and it was excellent! I was able to find the ginger garlic paste in the Asian foods section of the grocery store. I served it over steamed rice. Delicious! I would recommend using a non-stick saucepan to cook this in. I didn't, and I've got a bunch of food stuck to my pan now. Also, I may add another jalapeno pepper next time to increase the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is excellent! Prior to this I'd thought the only way I liked eggplant was in Eggplant Parmesan. Will definitely make it again in the future. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Delicious, although I feel like it was missing something. But it went really well with a spicy chickpea curry and basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonmot
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was good. I cut my eggplant in half and cooked for 15 minutes. Next time I will start checking at 10 minutes b/c I'd like it to be a bit firmer. The cilantro is really key because it brightens up the flavors and adds another layer. If you don't have or don't care for cilantro try subbing flat leaf parsley or a squeeze of lemon juice. I served this as a main dish with brown rice and naan. 2 servings of the curry plus one serving of riche and half a peice of store bought naan added up to 620 calories. Was a filling meal that I will definitely make again. Next time I will serve with a grilled chicken breast or maybe shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was a simple enough recipe and I enjoy the flavors (especially the next day once they've had a chance to fuse). I may have overcooked the eggplant however, because I found the dish a bit lacking in texture. Making sure you don't overcook the eggplant is key for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was so delicious!! My husband, who hates eggplant, even admitted it was tastey. I used canned chopped jalapeno instead of fresh, and that added some great kick. I am adding this to my weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdiCroft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States