Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I think the acidity of the tomato made the yogurt turn into little white solids, so I´m not too happy with the appearance. The flavor, however, is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Although the color was unappetizing, the eggplant tasted great!! This is a great vegetarian lovers dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadelta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Great dish! Turned out wonderfully! I probably could have cooked the eggplant for 15 minutes in the oven and been fine - it would've been less mushy. I also added about 1 T of sugar at the end. And I took someone else's advice and squeezed half a lemon over the top. Served on a brown rice/lentil combo bed with naan on the side. Delicious! And now my apartment smells amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
First try at cooking Indian food. The meal was served 20 minutes ago and it's already gone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Delicious! I was looking for an easy eggplant recipe and this one really hit the spot! I didn't have all the ingredients on hand so I did a bit of substituting: I used fresh ginger and garlic instead of the paste, half a can of tomato sauce instead of a tomato and some sour cream with milk to make up for the plain yogurt. I'm sure these modifications changed the taste a bit, so it's no longer authentic Indian, but it turned out great (boyfriend gave it two thumbs up!) I served it hot with brown rice - makes a fabulous, meatless dinner. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very good recipe. I added cayenne pepper and canned green chili to the mix, to give it another little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
It seemed like the cooking time was too long for something that had a very small liquid base. My family liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
not at all Baingan Bharta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Just wasn't my thing. I did let it sit in the fridge for a few days because people said it tasted better as leftovers but i don't really think it tasted all too great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleyD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very nice! Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The curious cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States