Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I make this a few times a year and it really rocks! I add peas to the finished dish for some color. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I found this recipe on a different website and they had a link to this recipe. Never having eaten Indian food, I have nothing to compare this to. I thought it was good, but extremely spic'y! I don't know if thats the curry, but if you don't do spicy food, this isnt for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I used 1 tbsp minced garlic and 1.5 tsp dried ginger in place of the garlic paste, and I left out the yogurt (because I forgot) and the jalepeno (didn't have one). I also left the skin on the eggplant after roasting it at 450 for 30 minutes. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made this exactly as is, except that I had to create my own ginger-garlic paste (I minced 1/2 tablespoon each to make it). I found it incredibly salty. Perfect level of heat to it, but it was so, so salty! I can hardly eat it. I'll leave out the salt next time, and possibly put more yogurt in to combat it...I double-checked all the measurements, too. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babeltek
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this with red bell peppers and tofu instead of eggplant and it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babeltek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of one fresh but pretty much followed the rest of the recipe as written. My husband & I both just loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was a very bland meal, and I followed the recipe exactly. I love Indian food and seem to be trying all of the local Indian restaurants around as well. I'm a very experienced cook, so it isn't like a rookie was giving this a go. It could have to do with the cooking on high heat for 10 minutes, because it left a nice burned bottom on my pan. Anyway, won't be cooking this again, sorry Yakuta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sis.e.bare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I'm giving this recipe a five because of the way I made it. It was a three until we added curry paste and it made ALL the difference in the world! First the changes: We followed the recipe almost exactly except for that I couldn't find any ginger garlic paste, so I finely minced ginger and garlic and essentially made the paste myself. The only other change was that I've used curry powder in the past, and it never has enough flavor/kick so I substituted garam masala. I also ended up baking the eggplant for 20 minutes, which seemed to be perfect. Lastly, we added spicy curry paste. Now the complaints: Be careful when cooking it on high for 10 minutes because it began to burn a tiny bit on the bottom. It's a good idea to mix it up halfway through. It smelled delicious when we were making it, but when we tried it something seemed wrong. It was just so bland and had this odd yogurt taste that dominated the dish. We had some curry paste laying around and added that and the dish became fantastic! I'm not sure if we would have gotten the same results by just leaving out the yogurt, but it worked out nicely and is a dish I will absolutely be making again! Next time I will also add some peas into the mix! (And possibly cut the salt in half)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lillpup
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was very tasty. The only change I made was using a can of diced tomatoes (with liquid) instead of the tomato. It made the dish extra saucey, which is my preference. Will def. make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Great flavor! I didn't have ginger garlic paste, so I just used a 50/50 mix of the two and it turned out wonderful, just spicy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States