Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Good recipe overall. Doesn't specify garlic:ginger ratio for garlic ginger paste, but I did 1:1. Didn't have whole cumin seeds; used ground cumin. Didn't have yogurt; used sour cream thinned with a little water. Only used 1 heaping tsp of curry powder, but was waaay to spicy for my toddler & spouse, but we tamed it with more sour cream on their plates. Might depend on your particular curry powder, though, so I'd suggest adding sparingly to begin with and adding more as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vahnee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Great base recipe. I am always looking for a way to use up eggplant from the garden and this combined one of my favorite veggies with one of my favorite cuisines! I diced up the eggplant (skin intact), salted it, let it drain, and baked on a cookie sheet for 15 minutes. In retrospect, I would forgo draining as the extra liquid was needed. I added a tablespoon of garam masala paste, extra minced garlic, and a teaspoon of fresh grated ginger to the base recipe. I did not use salt other than what I used when I baked the eggplant. I also added the yogurt at the end of cook time, based on recommendations. Really, really delicious! Color, flavor, aroma... this recipe has it all! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I thought this was DELICIOUS!!! I really honestly cant stand eggplant but I've been getting a lot with my CSA and have no other choice but to eat it or waste it. This is so good. I made a few changes because I always do. I used two small eggplant instead of one large. I also cut up (and baked in the oven along with the eggplant) some white potatoes. If I didnt have the potatoes it wouldnt have been very much food. I didn't have any chiles so I used some curry paste I had around to give it a little spice as well as some chile powder. I did not add curry powder and I used Ginger powder instead of ginger since I didnt have any! I love the way the yogurt gives the eggplant a nice sweet taste and I would eat this again and again. We actually fought over the leftovers :) We served it over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I first made this in a kitchen that wasn't mine and I had limited resources. I am still not sure what ginger garlic paste is- so i just combined pressed garlic and ginger. I didn't have yogurt so I added a splash of sour cream and had only jarred peppers. and added parsley instead. I know that this changes a lot of initial flavors, but I'm convinced that the recipe as written is amazing. Maybe could have used an addition of a protein like chickpeas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This recipe was absolutely delicious! Never made curry before and it came out great. Love eggplant so I'm always looking for recipes that feature eggplant as the main ingredient. Have to say, I did a little switch...didn't have plain yoghurt so I used 1/2 cup of lowfat cream cheese instead....made the curry lip-smacking good. I'm still smiling from the blending of flavors! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Everyone, including my 1.5 year old liked this. She loves eggplant but has been very picky a bout foods with a lot of flavor lately. I decided to make this anyway, my husband and I love Indian cuisine. Because it was such a hot day instead of baking the eggplant I added olive oil to a frying pan and placed the Japanese eggplant, that I had cut into large chunks, into the hot oil and cooked until tender flipping as not to burn it. I had to make the garlic ginger paste using 3 cloves of garlic, ground ginger and salt. I used a cubanelle paper in place of the jalapeno and added chili powder for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This recipe was just ok. I think it would have been better if the eggplant was more finely chopped or even pureed. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I make this a few times a year and it really rocks! I add peas to the finished dish for some color. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I found this recipe on a different website and they had a link to this recipe. Never having eaten Indian food, I have nothing to compare this to. I thought it was good, but extremely spic'y! I don't know if thats the curry, but if you don't do spicy food, this isnt for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I used 1 tbsp minced garlic and 1.5 tsp dried ginger in place of the garlic paste, and I left out the yogurt (because I forgot) and the jalepeno (didn't have one). I also left the skin on the eggplant after roasting it at 450 for 30 minutes. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States