Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Surprised at the delightful depth of flavor. We added diced tofu for protein avoiding the carbohydrate rich rice or naan as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I've made this a few times now, and it's popular with friends and family. My modifications: [*] Instead of 1 tbsp. curry powder, I use 1/2 curry powder and 1/2 garam masala. [*] I add the yogurt at the end, after the dish cools a bit. [*] I stir frequently throughout (even during the "covered" cooking phase), to keep the dish from burning. Cook on medium heat, not high. [*] I add 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruien

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
First thank you very much to the reviewer that suggested grated garlic and ginger. I really enjoy the bursts of heat from those. With that being said the dish was really tasty. I added chopped okra for color which was really good. I used coconut oil as my vegetable oil and am considering using coconut milk or a fat free sour cream instead of yogurt. Those substitutions would be strictly for presentation. The yogurt does grain up during cooking as one reviewer said but the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csgtdw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Wow. I liked it. I really didn't think I would, but I did. I even followed the recipe - pretty much - well, the ingredients anyway. :/ I cooked everything stovetop, subbed 1/4t each granulated garlic & ground ginger for the ginger garlic paste. I used 1t ground cumin for the seeds. 'Added 1t curry powder by mistake - instead of 1T. Gee, can I honestly say I followed the recipe? Maybe not. I liked it though. 'Didn't add any yogurt, btw. Oh, tomato was soft so that didn't make it in either. Hmmm ... maybe I should "rephrase the beginning of this review. :? :D Sum up: This is the first Indian dish I've liked. Authentic or not, I'm glad I went for it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Superb! I made it as is! Was delicious, my boyfriend ate everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My first indian dish. I added more jalepenos cause i like the extra kick. Added potatoes. delicious. Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious! Like others have said, it isn't authentic using curry powder instead of mixing the individual spices yourself, but it is delicious nonetheless (and it made for an excellent shortcut in a time crunch!) This was so delicious not only did my entire family devour it, but my 4 year old who has been going through a picky-spell ate one bite and said "yum!" and then ate it all!! The only thing I did differently was puree the onion with the garlic/ginger so it was all mushy with no chunks. It was so good I'm going to have to double it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
After having this at a local restaurant I was determined to make it at home. This recipe was easy and the dish was very flavorful served over basmati rice. As others have noted, one eggplant isn't sufficient. I also recommend using garam masala instead of curry. Charring the eggplant on a gas burner for 10 minutes before putting it in the oven lent a smokey flavor to the eggplant. I also cracked the cumin seeds and toasted them in the pan before adding the onion. I like it just with eggplant; I subsequently made it with some diced chicken and that was also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Awesome!!!!! I used garam Marsala in place of curry as suggested by another rater. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States