Bahamian Style Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this mostly as written and found it to be pretty bland. Overall a little disappointing, I've been looking forward to trying this for a long time and it just didn't live up to expectations. Probably won't make again but I'm glad I tried it. Just to clarify my rating has nothing to do with authenticity. The submitter clearly states it is "Bahamian Style" which means to me it is her interpretation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I read some, but not all, of the reviews and stopped, realizing I really didn't care whether this was the "authentic" way to make this, especially since the submitter titled her recipe Bahamian "Style" Peas and Rice. After reading the directions again before writing this review, I found I did not prepare this as the recipe directed, but only because I was careless in following the directions. I had drained the pigeon peas (which I found in an international market) and cooked the rice separately, both of which were contrary to the directions. The dish didn't seem to suffer for it. I did deliberately add the ketchup but skip the tomato paste. I also added some minced fresh garlic, basically because I had some left over from a dish Hubs was preparing and we liked that addition (authentic or not). When I first read the list of ingredients I knew this was bound to be a winner, and I was right. This is an interesting rice dish with a well-balanced array of ingredients and flavors. It does, indeed, have Caribbean flair, but we served this with grilled skewers of steak and shrimp, "Surf and Turf for Two," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
It tasted more like paella than peas and rice, but then I've only ever eaten the Jamaican peas and rice. Aside from that, my rice took more than 2 hours to cook!! And it did get burnt at the bottom, hence the paella taste. Not my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I pre-cooked the rice to speed this up. Turned out great. Paired it with jerked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This recipe is pretty close to what I ate while I lived in Nassau. It is definitely missing the minced green pepper and it has more tomato flavor than normal. I'd cut out the ketchup and tomato and just do the tomato paste. But other than that it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADKgal
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Although I never been to bahamas, I am glad to have stumbled onto this recipie. Being tired of the same old white rice time after time, I was looking for something different and easy to make. I followed it exactly exept for the celery. I had none so I added roasted red peppers instead. I could have added the green pepper instead as another reviewer said, but I don't really like green peppers. Anyway, my family loved it and so did I. I will be making this again. P.S. I don't know what the person who said that the tomato paste simmered to the top. You must have done something wrong because this turned out nicely cooked and fluffy. Thanks for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My husband is from the Bahamas and I have yet to find a recipe that is most like his. This one is missing a few ingredients such as the coconut milk and the salt pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe is closest to how my Bahamian friend prepares his. Instead of bacon he used small cubes of salt pork, sauteed until brown. He then added the chopped onion and garlic. After the onions were cooked, about one or two minutes he stirred in a can of tomato paste, no tomatoes. about a cup of washed white long grained rice, then enough water to just cover the rice. He set the heat on low and just let the rice cook slowly until all liquid was absorbed. He then fluffed the rice, adding the peas at the end. He flavored it also with salt (did not need much) and thyme. This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very good. I added the pigeon peas towards the end so they wouldn't dry out. This recipe gives the rice a very good flavor. I will make again, but next time I will use a different bean because my husband wasn't fond of the pigeon peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My husband loves peas and rice and has been asking for me to find a good recipe - as so many do not taste authentic. This was a great recipe that he actually loved and the rest of the family did too - even though he and I are the only ones that are fans of carribean food. Grandma and son liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States