Bahamian Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I'm sorry, but we did not care for this recipe. It was bitter and sour. Mahi Mahi is one of my families favorite seafood dish and we all left half the fish on our plates - not a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
If its not too late I recomend you stop making this recipie and try something else. I want my money back. Im pissed, I waited 3 hours for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I also found it bitter and sour. There is no BODY to this recipe. I saved my fillets by sauteing the onions in a little butter. Then tossing in the fillets when onions are soft. Sprinkled little McCormick's Garlic Salt on top. Sauted for 1-2 minutes. Topped with graded parmesan cheese. YUMMY. now..NO LEFTOVERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
honestly i don't know what everybody's dislike on this dish!! i loooooooved it& everyone else did to! thnxxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEL ;D

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
A beautiful presentation with the lemons on the fish and sprinkled with the oregano. I served the fish with rice and a spinach/strawberry salad. Nice flavor on the fish, next time I will marinade longer. I marinaded about 2 hours, but the flavors could have been stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
I have to agree, it was quite sour. The rum overwhelmed the delicate flavor of the fish. It was not well liked by the family. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This was awful. Very tart. Way too much lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestline, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I tried it and was not impressed. Not sure how "authentic" it is, but it's not as good as the Ginger Glazed recipe that appears here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I thought this was a fabulous recipe! I marinated the fish for only two hours and it was well flavored. My husband loved it! Definitely a keeper for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
After reading slot of the reviews I saw what the major problems and was able to fix them: First the very bitter taste. The best way to balance the bitter is to add sugar I added about a table spoon of sugar sprinkeld over the fish. Second the bland flavor: I added crushed pepper and Parmesan cheese. Lastly one big mastake I saw people make was letting it sit in the marnade for way to long. Lemon juce will cook the fish and that will make it dry after u cook it. I only let it sit for an hour and it still had the lemon and rum flavor. After all that it ended up tasting awesome and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Lynn Kent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States